Do Mishaps by default terminate a career?

Discuss the Traveller RPG and its many settings
Nog
Shrew
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2018 2:10 pm

Do Mishaps by default terminate a career?

Postby Nog » Fri Sep 07, 2018 9:54 pm

Upon failing a survival roll, one must consult Mishap table; and unless otherwise noted the PC is ejected from the current career - the Mishap explains why. But that's not the only source of Mishaps. On every career, rolling a 2 for that term's Event forces a Mishap roll, though in that case the Mishap explicitly does not cause the career to terminate.

However, there are a few more Events that can force a roll on the Mishap table (e.g. Agent - 8, or Entertainer - 8 ) without specifying if this puts and end to the career. I'd say it does not, but I am not sure if that's what the intention behind the rules. Anyone willing to chime in?
Old School
Banded Mongoose
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2018 1:41 pm

Re: Do Mishaps by default terminate a career?

Postby Old School » Sat Sep 08, 2018 12:03 am

I don’t see anything clear in the rules, so I would go with the default that it ends the career. Those events, a failed undercover assignment or failed attempt to take down a political leader sound like things thst would be career ending.

But I break several rules in traveller creation that make for stronger travellers, so if you want to make career ending mishaps a little less likely in your game, you wont hear me complain.
AnotherDilbert
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 3123
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Do Mishaps by default terminate a career?

Postby AnotherDilbert » Sat Sep 08, 2018 12:04 am

No?
Survival
Each career has a survival roll. If you fail this roll, you must then roll on the Mishap Table. This mishap will force you to leave the career immediately unless otherwise stated. You will also lose the Benefit roll for the current term.
Any other Mishap will not automatically end your career.
Linwood
Banded Mongoose
Posts: 260
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 12:41 am

Re: Do Mishaps by default terminate a career?

Postby Linwood » Sat Sep 08, 2018 12:17 am

I’ve generally interpreted this as RAW - only mishaps described as not terminating a career allow the character to continue on.

This is not a real disaster most of the time; the character can still enlist in a new career and perhaps now has a more interesting background. Maybe he or she now has a grudge against the Corps after they sacked, a new Enemy, etc - and maybe that can be a handy hook for the GM to build a plot on or draw the character into an adventure.
Reynard
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 3233
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 10:03 pm

Re: Do Mishaps by default terminate a career?

Postby Reynard » Sat Sep 08, 2018 1:18 am

Unless I missed one, the only other Mishap event is under each career's Events, "Disaster! Roll on the Mishap Table, but you are not ejected from this career." It's either a massive disaster, relatively speaking, or it really sucks to be you and get on with it. Sounds like a lot of events in movies.
ShawnDriscoll
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 2752
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:13 pm

Re: Do Mishaps by default terminate a career?

Postby ShawnDriscoll » Sat Sep 08, 2018 4:44 am

Some of the rules are written in the events themselves. They over-ride.
AnotherDilbert
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 3123
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Do Mishaps by default terminate a career?

Postby AnotherDilbert » Sat Sep 08, 2018 9:29 am

The rules do not say "all Mishaps ends your career", they say "Mishaps caused by failed survival rolls ends your career", i.e. "Failed survival rolls (generally) ends your career".

Any other Mishap has no effect other than stated in the Mishap.

Core, p16 wrote: Survival
Each career has a survival roll. If you fail this roll, you must then roll on the Mishap Table. This mishap will force you to leave the career immediately unless otherwise stated. You will also lose the Bene t roll for the current term. A natural 2 on the survival roll is always a failure.
Nog
Shrew
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2018 2:10 pm

Re: Do Mishaps by default terminate a career?

Postby Nog » Sat Sep 08, 2018 2:16 pm

AnotherDilbert wrote:
Sat Sep 08, 2018 9:29 am
The rules do not say "all Mishaps ends your career", they say "Mishaps caused by failed survival rolls ends your career", i.e. "Failed survival rolls (generally) ends your career".
Any other Mishap has no effect other than stated in the Mishap.
I'd be tempted to read it that way too.

However, some "Roll on the mishap table" table events explicitly state "but you are not ejected from the career". This seems to suggest that the default is meant to be the opposite.
Reynard wrote:
Sat Sep 08, 2018 1:18 am
Unless I missed one, the only other Mishap event is under each career's Events, "Disaster! Roll on the Mishap Table, but you are not ejected from this career."
You missed several, including the two I included in the initial post: Agent Event 8, and Entertainer Event 8.
AnotherDilbert
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 3123
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Do Mishaps by default terminate a career?

Postby AnotherDilbert » Sat Sep 08, 2018 3:25 pm

Nog wrote: However, some "Roll on the mishap table" table events explicitly state "but you are not ejected from the career". This seems to suggest that the default is meant to be the opposite.
Possibly. Or not.

I prefer to use the rules as written, rather than trying to divine what the author meant but didn't write.
Condottiere
Chief Mongoose
Posts: 6415
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 8:23 pm

Re: Do Mishaps by default terminate a career?

Postby Condottiere » Sun Sep 09, 2018 3:22 pm

You could invoke the digging yourself deeper gambit.

Persuade the dungeon master to permit one more final survival throw that supersedes the previous one, at a greater penalty and with much greater dire consequences for the character on failure, and even success has it's price.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests