Best book (any edition) about the Imperium?

Discuss the Traveller RPG and its many settings
Kodiak3d
Shrew

Best book (any edition) about the Imperium?

Postby Kodiak3d » Tue Sep 19, 2017 12:30 am

I've only recently discovered Traveller, but I've fallen in love with it. Not sure how my friends and I missed it over the years (I've been gaming for 30 years). I love the freedom it grants to it's players and referee while still providing a detailed setting.

Anyway, I was wondering what book, from any edition, gives the best information about the Third Imperium itself. The "High Laws," how it functions, etc. Any help is appreciated.
ShawnDriscoll
Cosmic Mongoose

Re: Best book (any edition) about the Imperium?

Postby ShawnDriscoll » Tue Sep 19, 2017 1:35 am

The best?

Most editions have their re-printed stuff about the Imperium's history. But the ones I look through the most are the GURPS Traveller 2nd edition corebook, GURPS Nobles, MegaTraveller's Imperial Encyclopedia. And of course, Mongoose has their 3rd Imperium book. They all have the same info in them pretty much.
Jeraa
Lesser Spotted Mongoose

Postby Jeraa » Tue Sep 19, 2017 1:47 am

Do note that GURPS changes some things, however. The assassination of Strephon (and everything that results from it) doesn't happen in GURPS Traveller.
Kodiak3d
Shrew

Postby Kodiak3d » Tue Sep 19, 2017 1:50 am

ShawnDriscoll wrote:
Tue Sep 19, 2017 1:35 am
The best?

Most editions have their re-printed stuff about the Imperium's history. But the ones I look through the most are the GURPS Traveller 2nd edition corebook, GURPS Nobles, MegaTraveller's Imperial Encyclopedia. And of course, Mongoose has their 3rd Imperium book. They all have the same info in them pretty much.
Mongoose has a book specifically about the Imperium? I know they have an entire line of books about various things, but I didn't know there was one about the Imperium itself. Which is that?
tytalan
Stoat

Postby tytalan » Tue Sep 19, 2017 1:59 am