Question about Pirates in Traveller

Discuss the Traveller RPG and its many settings
Kal99
Cub

Question about Pirates in Traveller

Postby Kal99 » Mon Aug 07, 2017 1:10 am

I'm new to Traveller and plan to run Pirates of Drinax as my first campaign. Reading through everything there's one point I'm still not sure of...how do pirates escape? Most ships, including the Harrier, only carry enough fuel for one jump at max range, and in the best of conditions it takes d6 hours to refuel. Do most pirates (with a j2 drive) just jump one parsec in, attack, jump one parsec out, then head home refueling every 2 parsecs? Or did I miss something in my reading of the rules?
ShawnDriscoll
Duck-Billed Mongoose

Re: Question about Pirates in Traveller

Postby ShawnDriscoll » Mon Aug 07, 2017 1:42 am

You get only one stab at jumping. And the trip in jumpspace is a week long, no matter the number of parsecs.

The trick is to hide somewhere once you are out of jumpspace. Or to hide somewhere first for awhile before jumping. Hopefully, the space cops don't know what direction you jumped.
SSWarlock
Greater Spotted Mongoose

Postby SSWarlock » Mon Aug 07, 2017 2:16 am

One possibility is for the pirate ship to use a collapsible fuel bladder in its cargo hold(s). They jump in, transfer the fuel into their tanks, collapse the bladders, then go hunting with full tanks and a virtually empty cargo hold for loot.

Or so I've heard rumors to this effect. Never tried anything like this myself, you understand.
Sir Dhaven Hevelin, IOD, Baronet of Fulacin
Owner/Captain - S.S. Warlock

Playing Traveller/RQ/D&D since 1978
tytalan
Weasel

Postby tytalan » Mon Aug 07, 2017 2:37 am