Character Creation Rules Questions

Discuss the Traveller RPG and its many settings
daryen
Mongoose
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 10:48 pm

Character Creation Rules Questions

Postby daryen » Thu Apr 06, 2017 4:29 am

Some questions on Mongoose 2e character creation and skills, if that's OK ...

1) Are there any skills in books outside the Core Rulebook? In Mongoose 1e, one of the books (Mercenary) had additional skills. Did that happen in 2e, too? Or are the only skills in the Core Rulebook?

2) If a character has Electronics 0, then gains Electronics (Computer) 1, does the character still have Electronics 0 (to cover any of the other specializations)? (Obviously, this questions applies to any skill with specializations, other than Profession.)

3) If a character gains Electronics (Computer) 1, does the character also effectively gain Electronics 0, or must Electronics 0 be gained independently? (Obviously, this question applies to any skill with specializations, other than Profession.)

4) A character may have a maximum number of skill levels equal to three times the sum of their INT and EDU. Is there any limit to the number of level 0 skills a character may possess?

5) When a character goes through basic training, gaining their set of level 0 skills, is that in ADDITION to their skill for that term, or is it IN PLACE of their skill for that term?

6) If the answer to the previous question is IN PLACE of the automatic skill, when a character enters a second career and only receives a single basic training level 0 skill, does that also replace the automatic skill for that term? That's a pretty heavy disincentive to change careers, if this is the case.

7) Just to be clear: the ways a character gets skills within a single term are:
- One automatic skill per term. (Depending on the answer for two questions up.)
- One skill with a successful Advancement roll.
- Some ranks provide an automatic skill (if they don't already have it).
- Some Events provide the opportunity for an additional skill.
So, typically, a character is only guaranteed a single skill per term, though usually they will get a second with a successful Advancement. Do I have this correct?

9) A successful Commission roll (which precludes the chance for an Advancement roll that term) does NOT provide an additional skill? Am I understanding this correctly? (Had to make this "9" instead of "8" because otherwise the question number becomes a smiley.)

Thank you in advance!
EldritchFire
Banded Mongoose
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 1:18 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH, USA
Contact:

Re: Character Creation Rules Questions

Postby EldritchFire » Thu Apr 06, 2017 10:17 am

daryen wrote:
Thu Apr 06, 2017 4:29 am
Some questions on Mongoose 2e character creation and skills, if that's OK ...

1) Are there any skills in books outside the Core Rulebook? In Mongoose 1e, one of the books (Mercenary) had additional skills. Did that happen in 2e, too? Or are the only skills in the Core Rulebook?
As it stands, the only skills in the game are in the core book. It's possible that new books will have new skills, but that's in the future and we can only guess at this point.
daryen wrote:
Thu Apr 06, 2017 4:29 am
2) If a character has Electronics 0, then gains Electronics (Computer) 1, does the character still have Electronics 0 (to cover any of the other specializations)? (Obviously, this questions applies to any skill with specializations, other than Profession.)

3) If a character gains Electronics (Computer) 1, does the character also effectively gain Electronics 0, or must Electronics 0 be gained independently? (Obviously, this question applies to any skill with specializations, other than Profession.)
No and yes. If you have Electronics (Computer) 1, you don't also have Electronics 0. However, having a skill level of 1 means you make all checks with the other specialisations at DM+0.

If your character has "…Engineer (jump drive) 1. He would then make all Engineer checks involving jump drives at DM+1, but would still make all other Engineer checks at DM+0 (in other words, with no penalty)", (CRB page 56).
daryen wrote:
Thu Apr 06, 2017 4:29 am
4) A character may have a maximum number of skill levels equal to three times the sum of their INT and EDU. Is there any limit to the number of level 0 skills a character may possess?
CRB page 52:

"Remember, your Traveller may have a maximum number of skill levels equal to three times his combined INT and EDU score. If they already have this many skills after leaving a career, any additional skills may only be learned to level 0."
daryen wrote:
Thu Apr 06, 2017 4:29 am
5) When a character goes through basic training, gaining their set of level 0 skills, is that in ADDITION to their skill for that term, or is it IN PLACE of their skill for that term?
According to the flow chart on page 10, "If this is first term of Career, go through Basic Training, Otherwise, choose a skill table and roll."

Therefore, it's in place of.
daryen wrote:
Thu Apr 06, 2017 4:29 am
6) If the answer to the previous question is IN PLACE of the automatic skill, when a character enters a second career and only receives a single basic training level 0 skill, does that also replace the automatic skill for that term? That's a pretty heavy disincentive to change careers, if this is the case.
I again point you to page 10: "If this is first term of Career…" you do basic training. Second term and beyond you get to choose a skill table to roll.

daryen wrote:
Thu Apr 06, 2017 4:29 am
7) Just to be clear: the ways a character gets skills within a single term are:
- One automatic skill per term. (Depending on the answer for two questions up.)
- One skill with a successful Advancement roll.
- Some ranks provide an automatic skill (if they don't already have it).
- Some Events provide the opportunity for an additional skill.
So, typically, a character is only guaranteed a single skill per term, though usually they will get a second with a successful Advancement. Do I have this correct?
With the exception of your very first term, where basic training gives you 6 skills at level 0, you are pretty much just getting one skill per term. If you successfully advance, you get a second skill.
daryen wrote:
Thu Apr 06, 2017 4:29 am
9) A successful Commission roll (which precludes the chance for an Advancement roll that term) does NOT provide an additional skill? Am I understanding this correctly? (Had to make this "9" instead of "8" because otherwise the question number becomes a smiley.)

Thank you in advance!
Sort of. You are correct that rolling for commission precludes the option of advancement and gaining another roll on a skill table. However, all officer rank 1s have a skill that is given, so in essence you do gain a new skill, just not a skill roll.

Also, if you use the enumerate list option

Code: Select all

[list=1][/list]
each list item

Code: Select all

[*]
will give you a number. Like so:
  1. First item
  2. Second item
  3. Etc.
Currently working on a Star Wars conversion for Traveller 2e! Details here.
AnotherDilbert
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 3693
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Character Creation Rules Questions

Postby AnotherDilbert » Thu Apr 06, 2017 10:17 am

daryen wrote: 1) Are there any skills in books outside the Core Rulebook? In Mongoose 1e, one of the books (Mercenary) had additional skills. Did that happen in 2e, too? Or are the only skills in the Core Rulebook?
Not yet, that I am aware of...

daryen wrote: 2) If a character has Electronics 0, then gains Electronics (Computer) 1, does the character still have Electronics 0 (to cover any of the other specializations)? (Obviously, this questions applies to any skill with specializations, other than Profession.)
Yes, p56.

daryen wrote: 3) If a character gains Electronics (Computer) 1, does the character also effectively gain Electronics 0, or must Electronics 0 be gained independently? (Obviously, this question applies to any skill with specializations, other than Profession.)
You get all lower skill levels, e.g. if you gain Elec-2 directly you also gain all the benefits of Elec-0 and Elec-1.

daryen wrote: 4) A character may have a maximum number of skill levels equal to three times the sum of their INT and EDU. Is there any limit to the number of level 0 skills a character may possess?
Not that I know of.

daryen wrote: 5) When a character goes through basic training, gaining their set of level 0 skills, is that in ADDITION to their skill for that term, or is it IN PLACE of their skill for that term?
The rules on p16 and the flow chart on p10 disagrees, so it is up to the Referee?

I use in addition. You always get a roll on a skill table every term according to p16.

daryen wrote: 6) If the answer to the previous question is IN PLACE of the automatic skill, when a character enters a second career and only receives a single basic training level 0 skill, does that also replace the automatic skill for that term? That's a pretty heavy disincentive to change careers, if this is the case.
I agree that would be silly.

daryen wrote: 7) Just to be clear: the ways a character gets skills within a single term are:
- One automatic skill per term. (Depending on the answer for two questions up.)
- One skill with a successful Advancement roll.
- Some ranks provide an automatic skill (if they don't already have it).
- Some Events provide the opportunity for an additional skill.
So, typically, a character is only guaranteed a single skill per term, though usually they will get a second with a successful Advancement. Do I have this correct?
Plus the connections rule, skill packages, and mustering out benefits...

daryen wrote: 9) A successful Commission roll (which precludes the chance for an Advancement roll that term) does NOT provide an additional skill? Am I understanding this correctly?
Yes, unfortunately.
daryen
Mongoose
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 10:48 pm

Re: Character Creation Rules Questions

Postby daryen » Thu Apr 06, 2017 1:55 pm

Thank you for the answers!
Sort of. You are correct that rolling for commission precludes the option of advancement and gaining another roll on a skill table. However, all officer rank 1s have a skill that is given, so in essence you do gain a new skill, just not a skill roll.
Kind of. That assumes you don't already have that skill. Skills gained due to ranks are only gained if you don't have that skill already (or only have skill 0). If you already have that skill, you gain nothing.
The rules on p16 and the flow chart on p10 disagrees, so it is up to the Referee?
It does indeed seem to be a conflict between the flow chart (which is quite explicit) and the text (which totally ignores that first term exception). So, I guess I am asking for an official answer? How do I go about asking for an official ruling?

This is especially relevant for question #6. Trading one skill 1 for six skill 0 is a reasonable trade. Trading one skill 1 for a single skill 0, not so much.

Also, thanks for the formatting tips!
AnotherDilbert
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 3693
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Character Creation Rules Questions

Postby AnotherDilbert » Thu Apr 06, 2017 2:26 pm

daryen wrote: It does indeed seem to be a conflict between the flow chart (which is quite explicit) and the text (which totally ignores that first term exception). So, I guess I am asking for an official answer? How do I go about asking for an official ruling?
Ask msprange?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Sigtrygg and 11 guests