High Guard is Here!

Discuss the Traveller RPG and its many settings
AndrewW
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 4363
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 11:57 pm

Re: High Guard is Here!

Postby AndrewW » Fri Aug 26, 2016 3:12 pm

AnotherDilbert wrote:Small craft errata (2016-08-26 update):
Will take a look, at least some of that should have been fixed already.
User avatar
alex_greene
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 3800
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 11:29 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: High Guard is Here!

Postby alex_greene » Fri Aug 26, 2016 3:31 pm

AndrewW wrote:
AnotherDilbert wrote:Could we get a list of changes in the update? It would allow us to check if our personal hobbyhorses have been changed.
Airlocks / Cargo Airlocks
Ship construction time
Space Stations
Belt Mining
Some formatting issues with ships and a few corrections here and there (Tigress got a number of corrections).

Not an exhaustive list but should give you an idea.
Processing limits for ship computers and Core systems, preferably tied to TL, would be helpful. At present, a ship's Model/5 doesn't look capable of handling a very large Bandwidth, unless its Processing were multiplied by its TL, for example.
Board moderator. Product List [DriveThruRPG]: Blood Path [Legend]; Cosmopolite [Traveller]; Castrobancla [Traveller]
AnotherDilbert
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 4273
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: High Guard is Here!

Postby AnotherDilbert » Fri Aug 26, 2016 3:42 pm

alex_greene wrote:Processing limits for ship computers and Core systems, preferably tied to TL, would be helpful. At present, a ship's Model/5 doesn't look capable of handling a very large Bandwidth, unless its Processing were multiplied by its TL, for example.
A m/5 always has bandwidth 5 = processing limit 5 (except when running Virtual Mining)?

But that is perhaps not what you mean?
AnotherDilbert
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 4273
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: High Guard is Here!

Postby AnotherDilbert » Fri Aug 26, 2016 3:45 pm

Ship errata (2016-08-26 update):

Express Boat: PP is 20 Power, not enough for the jump drive. PP fuel is 4 weeks, not 20 weeks.

Scout: Fuel Processor consume 2 Power, should be noted.

Seeker: Fuel Processor consume 1 Power, should be noted.

Serpent Scout: Total cost is not MCr 157. Fuel Processor consume 2 Power, should be noted.

Far Trader (Marava): A double turret w/ 2 beam lasers cost MCr 1,5, two turrets costs MCr 3. Low berths consume 1 power, should be noted. Price should be around MCr 55.

Far Trader (Type-A2): Low berths consume 1 power, should be noted. Fuel Processor consume 2 Power, should be noted.

Free Trader: Low berths consume 2 power, should be noted. Fuel Processor consume 1 Power, should be noted. Not enough power for basic systems + M-drive + sensors + low berths, i.e. normal operation.

Safari: Fuel Processor consume 2 Power, should be noted. 8dT fuel for the Launch?

Yacht: ATV should be carried in Docking Space? Cost of Ship's Boat is not MCr 7992?
-Daniel-
Duck-Billed Mongoose
Posts: 2317
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 5:20 pm
Location: Burbank, CA

Re: High Guard is Here!

Postby -Daniel- » Fri Aug 26, 2016 3:55 pm

alex_greene wrote:High Guard's just been updated.
Wonderful, heading over to get it.

Thanks You for the Heads Up. :mrgreen:
AnotherDilbert
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 4273
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: High Guard is Here!

Postby AnotherDilbert » Fri Aug 26, 2016 4:37 pm

Ship errata (2016-08-26 update):

SDB: 12 weeks fuel is 16 / 10 × 12 / 4 = 4,8 dT.

Gazelle: Small bridge, not noted. Fuel processor uses 6 power, not noted.
It would be much easier if sensor DM, weapon range, damage and power were noted for each ship.

Fleet Courier: PP costs MCr 44. PP fuel is not 8 weeks. Two Triple Missile turrets costs MCr 6,5. Fuel processor uses 2 power, not noted.

Lab Ship: Fuel is 6 weeks.

Patrol Corvette: Fuel processor uses 4 power, not noted. Weapons use 28 power, not 30.

Sub Merchant: Fuel is 8 weeks. Processor and Low berths use power, not noted.
vargr1
Stoat
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 9:07 pm

Re: High Guard is Here!

Postby vargr1 » Fri Aug 26, 2016 4:43 pm

Just got the new version. Saw a couple of things:

*There should be a pointer to the ship computer rules in the Core rulebook (pg 151) in the initial paragraphs of The Ships Computer chapter HG page 63. There is a reference to it in the Advanced Fire Control description. This does not help when looking for the rules for Jump Control software. Ideally, the Ship's Computer content of Core pg 151 should also be in HG.

*A fixed mount uses no displacement at all. If I mount three missile racks (does such a mount hold 4 missiles or 12 missiles each) on a fixed mount, do the missiles take up any displacement at all?
AnotherDilbert
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 4273
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: High Guard is Here!

Postby AnotherDilbert » Fri Aug 26, 2016 4:50 pm

AndrewW wrote:Ship construction time
Thanks!

A Tigress still takes 92 years to build?
An Arakoine takes 84 years?
AndrewW
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 4363
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 11:57 pm

Re: High Guard is Here!

Postby AndrewW » Fri Aug 26, 2016 5:06 pm

AnotherDilbert wrote:Ship errata (2016-08-26 update):

Express Boat: PP is 20 Power, not enough for the jump drive. PP fuel is 4 weeks, not 20 weeks.
That's on purpose:
The jump drive is powered by the battery,
which is recharged during the normal
refueling operations.
AndrewW
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 4363
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 11:57 pm

Re: High Guard is Here!

Postby AndrewW » Fri Aug 26, 2016 5:10 pm

AnotherDilbert wrote:Gazelle: Small bridge, not noted. .
It was supposed to be.

Ok, who wants to sponsor a trip to Swindon so I can take a Nerf bat to a few heads¿
AnotherDilbert
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 4273
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: High Guard is Here!

Postby AnotherDilbert » Fri Aug 26, 2016 5:18 pm

AndrewW wrote:That's on purpose:
I even looked for a battery, but it was only three lines high directly below the PP, so of course I missed it...
Belisknar
Mongoose
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 11:43 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: High Guard is Here!

Postby Belisknar » Fri Aug 26, 2016 5:21 pm

Survey Scout: Extra Small Bridge isn't noted
User avatar
alex_greene
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 3800
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 11:29 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: High Guard is Here!

Postby alex_greene » Fri Aug 26, 2016 5:36 pm

So if a passenger wandered in on a Free Trader carrying a TL 14 model/5 hand computer, its performance would match that of the Free Trader's ship's computer?

That's ... like going back to the days when a Model/1 weighed a ton.
Board moderator. Product List [DriveThruRPG]: Blood Path [Legend]; Cosmopolite [Traveller]; Castrobancla [Traveller]
AnotherDilbert
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 4273
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: High Guard is Here!

Postby AnotherDilbert » Fri Aug 26, 2016 5:49 pm

alex_greene wrote:So if a passenger wandered in on a Free Trader carrying a TL 14 model/5 hand computer, its performance would match that of the Free Trader's ship's computer?

That's ... like going back to the days when a Model/1 weighed a ton.
1990:
Image
Cray 2 Supercomputer

2015:
Image
Generic Smartphone

Very roughly the same performance.
-Daniel-
Duck-Billed Mongoose
Posts: 2317
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 5:20 pm
Location: Burbank, CA

Re: High Guard is Here!

Postby -Daniel- » Fri Aug 26, 2016 6:11 pm

I have tried downloading the update a few times and each time it tells me it failed. I tried clearing my cookies and logging out and back in, but nothing. :(

I will try again when I get back home to see if a change in computer works. but I am sad I don't get to check out the updates during lunch.
AndrewW
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 4363
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 11:57 pm

Re: High Guard is Here!

Postby AndrewW » Fri Aug 26, 2016 6:19 pm

-Daniel- wrote:I have tried downloading the update a few times and each time it tells me it failed. I tried clearing my cookies and logging out and back in, but nothing. :(
Try a different browser? Or maybe the DropBox option?

Might be a problem on DriveThruRPG's end of things. I get the same error. Tried a different browser and that one keeps telling me I have to login (not sure how it gets to the My Library page and shows stuff that should be there if I'm not logged in)...

Browser #3 refuses to even go to the login page.
-Daniel-
Duck-Billed Mongoose
Posts: 2317
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 5:20 pm
Location: Burbank, CA

Re: High Guard is Here!

Postby -Daniel- » Fri Aug 26, 2016 10:06 pm

AndrewW wrote:
-Daniel- wrote:I have tried downloading the update a few times and each time it tells me it failed. I tried clearing my cookies and logging out and back in, but nothing. :(
Try a different browser? Or maybe the DropBox option?

Might be a problem on DriveThruRPG's end of things. I get the same error. Tried a different browser and that one keeps telling me I have to login (not sure how it gets to the My Library page and shows stuff that should be there if I'm not logged in)...

Browser #3 refuses to even go to the login page.
I have now tried two computers and two different browsers (Chrome and IE). Both give me the "can't download unless you are logged in " error regardless of the fact I am logged in. :(

Tried clearing cache, logging out and back in, restarting computers nothing worked. Once I get home I will try that computer as well.
AndrewW
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 4363
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 11:57 pm

Re: High Guard is Here!

Postby AndrewW » Fri Aug 26, 2016 10:13 pm

-Daniel- wrote:Tried clearing cache, logging out and back in, restarting computers nothing worked. Once I get home I will try that computer as well.
Sounds familiar. I got it to start at one point, but it fails before finishing.
AnotherDilbert
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 4273
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:49 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: High Guard is Here!

Postby AnotherDilbert » Fri Aug 26, 2016 10:19 pm

vargr1 wrote:*A fixed mount uses no displacement at all. If I mount three missile racks (does such a mount hold 4 missiles or 12 missiles each) on a fixed mount, do the missiles take up any displacement at all?
No displacement for either weapon or missiles. 4 or 12 missiles depends on whether the weapon is mounted to a hardpoint or firmpoint (small craft).
vargr1
Stoat
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 9:07 pm

Re: High Guard is Here!

Postby vargr1 » Sat Aug 27, 2016 12:55 am

AnotherDilbert wrote:
vargr1 wrote:*A fixed mount uses no displacement at all. If I mount three missile racks (does such a mount hold 4 missiles or 12 missiles each) on a fixed mount, do the missiles take up any displacement at all?
No displacement for either weapon or missiles. 4 or 12 missiles depends on whether the weapon is mounted to a hardpoint or firmpoint (small craft).
Yeah, that kind of bugs me. Weapons - no matter what the mounting - should take up some displacement. With a turret weapon, you're paying for the turret and the weapons mount inside it. It feel like I'm getting something for free.

Also, a fixed mount can only fire in one direction - does that also count for missiles/torps, or can the missiles/torps be fired in any direction and they will maneuver towards the target? Does being fired from a fixed mount affect the range of the missiles/torps?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 42 guests