Questions on the Psion Career

Discuss the Traveller RPG and its many settings
CaptainOrs
Stoat
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 3:33 am

Questions on the Psion Career

Postby CaptainOrs » Wed Dec 02, 2015 12:41 am

If you roll an event (such as 2 while at University) that allows you to test your PSI and attempt to enter the Psion career, does the current term count against you on the Psionic Strength roll? The rulebook (pg.204) states:

"To determine a Traveller’s PSI, roll 2D and subtract the number of terms served by the Traveller in all careers thus far (PSI diminishes over time unless actively used)."

If you are in your first term at University and get this event, is your PSI 2D or 2D-1?

Also, for the Psion Career, I'm unclear how to handle basic training if this is your first career after University. The rulebook (pg.211) states:

"Unlike other careers, a Psion takes skills from the appropriate Specialist table instead of the Service Skills table in basic training.

The Psion must still roll to acquire talents when he determines his PSI. When rolling on the service skills table, if the Psion rolls the skill for a talent he does not yet possess, he may make another roll to acquire that talent."


Does that mean you automatically get the specialist skills at level 0? Another interpretation might be you have to roll for each skill to see if you acquire it at level 0 as part of your basic training. Thoughts?
Thanks,
Capt.
Scratches
Shrew
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2015 4:49 am

Re: Questions on the Psion Career

Postby Scratches » Fri Dec 04, 2015 12:11 am

CaptainOrs wrote:If you roll an event (such as 2 while at University) that allows you to test your PSI and attempt to enter the Psion career, does the current term count against you on the Psionic Strength roll? The rulebook (pg.204) states:

"To determine a Traveller’s PSI, roll 2D and subtract the number of terms served by the Traveller in all careers thus far (PSI diminishes over time unless actively used)."

If you are in your first term at University and get this event, is your PSI 2D or 2D-1?

Also, for the Psion Career, I'm unclear how to handle basic training if this is your first career after University. The rulebook (pg.211) states:

"Unlike other careers, a Psion takes skills from the appropriate Specialist table instead of the Service Skills table in basic training.

The Psion must still roll to acquire talents when he determines his PSI. When rolling on the service skills table, if the Psion rolls the skill for a talent he does not yet possess, he may make another roll to acquire that talent."


Does that mean you automatically get the specialist skills at level 0? Another interpretation might be you have to roll for each skill to see if you acquire it at level 0 as part of your basic training. Thoughts?
Good questions, I'd like to know the official answers too.

My unofficial interpretations are:

1. Since Event 2 for University states "any subsequent term" I think it's Psi 2D-1.
2. I believe Psi "skills" are called "talents" and if the rule doesn't specifically say "talent" then I assume they're not included. For basic training I've unofficially interpreted it as the Psion can only get the standard skills listed at 0, not the Psi talents. And only one of them if this isn't the first career.
3. I think if you roll a talent on the tables (service skills or not) and you don't have it you have to roll and get it a 2nd time to pick up the talent at level 0, otherwise the roll is wasted.

But I'm just guessing!
Scratches
Shrew
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2015 4:49 am

Re: Questions on the Psion Career

Postby Scratches » Fri Dec 04, 2015 12:35 am

Haha, wow I just reread the rules and I'm totally wrong in how I've been doing this, ignore my previous post!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 63 guests