Continuing Effects of Critical Hit Damage in AoD

Discuss the Victory at Sea range of naval games.

Moderator: rcbecker1

thomaso827
Weasel
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 8:03 pm
Location: Dayton, OH

Continuing Effects of Critical Hit Damage in AoD

Postby thomaso827 » Mon Nov 22, 2010 4:42 pm

We had a flooding critical come up during a game on Saturday, and 2 of us flipping through the rules could not find a definitive answer to what continuing effects would be. Our assumption we ended up using was that the damage and casualties continue, with double damage due to poor subdivision, for each turn that damage control fails to fix the damage. This seemed most likely while the water continues to pour in. Did we read that correctly? Just like fire, it just seems right that unchecked flooding is going to eventually sink the ship. Thanks.

Tom Oxley
OD Green Old Fart
DM
Duck-Billed Mongoose
Posts: 2422
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 6:43 pm
Location: Gloucester, UK

Postby DM » Mon Nov 22, 2010 6:56 pm

No, its a one-time effect
DM's naval website, now moved to the NWS site
http://www.navalwargamessociety.org/nav ... links.html
Co-author "Order of Battle"
Author, "Age of Dreadnoughts"
Bloke who paints VAS ships for Matt
Bacon Number of 4 :D
thomaso827
Weasel
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 8:03 pm
Location: Dayton, OH

Postby thomaso827 » Mon Nov 22, 2010 7:23 pm

Thanks! The ship was destroyed by gunnery before it would have sunk by our mistaken understanding, so not a game changer for us anyway. We played the Coronel scenario, I had the British, and it ended up pretty much historically, except the only one that might be getting away was the AMC. My lousy command is to blame. :lol: Old Army NCOs probably shouldnt play Admiral. :roll:

Tom Oxley
OD Green Old Fart

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests