More rules questions

Discuss the Victory at Sea range of naval games.

Moderator: rcbecker1

frankinla
Shrew
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 10:05 pm

More rules questions

Postby frankinla » Thu Apr 05, 2007 4:03 pm

Hello, all. Well, our VaS group is growing and everyone is busily ordering and gluing up their GHQ fleets. A few more questions have come up we could use some help with:

1. On p.17, it says ships detected by radar may be attacked at any range up to maximum, regardless of visibility conditions for Smoke, Bad Weather or Night, and "If an enemy has been detected by radar in Good Weather and during the day, the penalty for attacking it at long ranges is ignored, while the penalty for attacking it at extreme ranges is reduced to -1." What about when the ship was detected in Good Weather and during the day, but is being shot at through a smoke screen? Does the radar only permit the shooting through the smoke with the usual modifiers, or do you still get the reduction on the extreme range shots also? We decided to treat the smoke as if it was Bad Weather and not take the additional 'to hit' benefit because that seemed to make sense, but don't know if this is right.

2. What is the effect of smoke on LOS to the ship emitting the smoke? I think if the shooter is in the rear 180 of the smoking ship, its LOS would be blocked by the smoke. Some others think you can always shoot at the smoking ship, but are blocked for shots that go all the way through the smoke marker to a target beyond only.

3. Are 6s re-rolled due to Torpedo Belt still possible crits? We are playing that they do, since the re-roll rules on p.2 do say that the result may be worse, but, man, that's a LOT worse for something that is supposed to be helping. :D

4. The secondary armament for all the IJN have the Weak trait with the exception of the Nagara-class cruiser. Did the Nagara really have something special, or is this just a typo?

Frank in L.A.
Keith
Mongoose
Posts: 153
Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 7:41 pm

Re: More rules questions

Postby Keith » Fri Apr 06, 2007 10:30 am

frankinla wrote:Hello, all. Well, our VaS group is growing and everyone is busily ordering and gluing up their GHQ fleets. A few more questions have come up we could use some help with:

1. On p.17, it says ships detected by radar may be attacked at any range up to maximum, regardless of visibility conditions for Smoke, Bad Weather or Night, and "If an enemy has been detected by radar in Good Weather and during the day, the penalty for attacking it at long ranges is ignored, while the penalty for attacking it at extreme ranges is reduced to -1." What about when the ship was detected in Good Weather and during the day, but is being shot at through a smoke screen? Does the radar only permit the shooting through the smoke with the usual modifiers, or do you still get the reduction on the extreme range shots also? We decided to treat the smoke as if it was Bad Weather and not take the additional 'to hit' benefit because that seemed to make sense, but don't know if this is right.
I would be surprised if radar directed fire of WWII was anywhere as near as accurate as optiaclly targetted fire. As the rules stand radar directed fire through smoke on a clear day inccurs no penalty. I think this should probably be ammended.
2. What is the effect of smoke on LOS to the ship emitting the smoke? I think if the shooter is in the rear 180 of the smoking ship, its LOS would be blocked by the smoke. Some others think you can always shoot at the smoking ship, but are blocked for shots that go all the way through the smoke marker to a target beyond only.
The smoke rules are vague. Radar aside we currently do not allow any fire through the smoke even on the ship making that smoke. This includes the stern turrets of said ship. Note if the LOS is traced through the front of the ship we do allow targetting.
3. Are 6s re-rolled due to Torpedo Belt still possible crits? We are playing that they do, since the re-roll rules on p.2 do say that the result may be worse, but, man, that's a LOT worse for something that is supposed to be helping. :D
Yes. Note the defending player is allowed to choose which dice are rerolled. If you have a lucky opponant you have the option of making them reroll only the possible crits and take the normal damage.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests