Stupid chargen question - magnitudes

Discover the Legend RPG, Mongoose's fantasy game.
Bifford
Banded Mongoose
Posts: 308
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 12:55 pm
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Stupid chargen question - magnitudes

Postby Bifford » Wed Mar 12, 2014 4:42 pm

I'm helping players generate starting characters in a PbF on the Geek.

I thought that common spells could only be taken at their base magnitude (that stated in the book) and if they want to gain it at a higher (progressive) level this has to be done in game through advancement.

Am I wrong?

Can characters take a Magnitude 1, Progressive spell at Magnitude 2 or 3 as part of their "6 spell slots" starting allowance??

I feel like such an idiot having to ask this. Dread to think how I look to my players...... :/
auyl
Mongoose
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:26 pm

Re: Stupid chargen question - magnitudes

Postby auyl » Wed Mar 12, 2014 5:42 pm

The rules are on pg. 33. They say you 6 points to spend in Magnitude and that no spell can go above Magnitude 3. 1 Magnitude costs one point. So you could have 3 spells at Magnitudes 3, 2 and 1 or four at 2, 2, 1 and 1 or however you want. They don't have to start at the base level unless the player themselves wants a larger base of spells to draw from.
Check out Solace Games website here!
Check Solace Games out on Facebook here!
Bifford
Banded Mongoose
Posts: 308
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 12:55 pm
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Stupid chargen question - magnitudes

Postby Bifford » Fri Mar 14, 2014 10:18 am

Thanks, I think I was having a "blonde day" period :/

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests