I need clarification on this. The rules say:
If a covered location is hit by the attack, the firer has hit one of the individuals adjacent to the target (the Games Master will decide who).
So I shoot into melee, my target is partially covered by a friendly. Mechanically, how will I hit the covered location? How will I accidentally hit the friendly?
This is what I think:
a) I roll successfully on a bow skill and the choose not to pick right hit-location. I will roll randomly the hit-location and it happens to be covered location. (In this situation, I would never do it)
b) I just fail with the bow skill roll.
If you hit the covered location then you hit the friendly. There are many examples in films, TV and real life where this happens. If the GM feels nice then the friendly could get a Luck Roll to avoid the hit. If the friendly struggles, then you could rule that there is an opening if the friendly makes a Luck Roll. If you aim at a specific location then you will hit it on a successful hit but will miss on a failure. So, someone covering their abdomen and chest with a friendly could still be hit in the head, but not in the chest/abdomen.
Of course, if the hit does enough damage to get through the armour of the friendly twice (front and back) and do double the location's HPs and get through the hostile's locational armour, it could still do damage. So, an orc holds a leather-wearing child in front of his abdomen, the child has 1 point armour and 3 points in the abdomen, the orc has 4 point armour, so any missile doing more than 1+3+3+1+4 (12) damage will do damage to the orc. Not great for the kid, though.