Quick question: delaying

Discover the Legend RPG, Mongoose's fantasy game.
jux
Stoat
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 1:49 pm
Location: Estonia

Quick question: delaying

Postby jux » Thu Sep 20, 2012 8:12 am

I had this situation, that I had difficulties in translating into the game rules.

So PC has higher initiative order than a monster. He wants to wait, so when monster closes on him, he wants to hit him before he get's hit. So he delays and it is monsters turn. The monster moves and wants to attack. Now what should happen next?

I like how in Savage Worlds one that delayed can make opposed agility check to take his turn in the middle of the monster's turn, but in Legend it does not work like that.
strega
Banded Mongoose
Posts: 286
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: Quick question: delaying

Postby strega » Thu Sep 20, 2012 8:55 am

The Delay action p127 states "This changes his Strike Rank to the number when he finally does act." so effectively we have a situation where two combatants have the same strike rank.

Under Calculating Initiative p125 it says "If two participants tie scores, then they act
simultaneously. If both are attacking simultaneously, a weapon being used to strike cannot also
be used to parry a simultaneous blow."

So if you Delay then your SR is changed to the SR on which you finally want to act (the same SR as the enemy) and both attack simultaneously but you can only parry with a shield or off-hand weapon.

Hope this helps.
My Getting started with Legend file including a suggested starting adventure.

My Romano-British Game setting.
jux
Stoat
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 1:49 pm
Location: Estonia

Re: Quick question: delaying

Postby jux » Thu Sep 20, 2012 10:17 am

Thanks. That makes sense and this is close to how we ended up playing. We just both rolled the attack at the same time, without parry. For some reason I thought one cannot delay to the same SR - only before or after, but it does not have to be like that.
User avatar
Mixster
Lesser Spotted Mongoose
Posts: 467
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 7:12 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: Quick question: delaying

Postby Mixster » Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:17 pm

strega wrote:The Delay action p127 states "This changes his Strike Rank to the number when he finally does act." so effectively we have a situation where two combatants have the same strike rank.

Under Calculating Initiative p125 it says "If two participants tie scores, then they act
simultaneously. If both are attacking simultaneously, a weapon being used to strike cannot also
be used to parry a simultaneous blow."

So if you Delay then your SR is changed to the SR on which you finally want to act (the same SR as the enemy) and both attack simultaneously but you can only parry with a shield or off-hand weapon.

Hope this helps.
Wow I need to do this against enemies that have only a two-handed weapon when I have a shield.
He can't parry, but I'll suffer no penalties, yes please.
Meep Meep

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests