Two attacks for closing range?

Discover the Legend RPG, Mongoose's fantasy game.
Cendorn
Cub
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 5:59 am

Two attacks for closing range?

Postby Cendorn » Mon Aug 27, 2012 6:11 am

So, Arn is standing a couple of meters away from Brynulf. Arn is wielding a short sword (reach S) and Brynulf has his Greataxe (reach L).

Arn wants to move in on Brynulf to attack him.

Since Brynulf has a reach of sizes more, Arn will have to actively close into Close Combat range.

Arn has a SR of 21 and Brynulf is acting on SR 17.

So, on SR 21 Arn declares that he wants to Close. For this he will have to spend a Combat Action. But is it an "extra" Combat Action, or does it also cost him his Strike Rank?

That is will Brynulf first get a free attack when Arn moves into short reach, and then his ordinary attack on SR 17 before Arn can attack him the first time?
OR
Will Arn suffer the free attack (if this is what Brynulf chooses to do), but then he can act in his Strike Rank before Brynulf has a chance to attack him again?

Just changing game after 30 years of Dungeons and Dragons so the details of Legend/RQ still confuses me... :twisted:
Fonso
Stoat
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 4:27 pm
Location: España

Re: Two attacks for closing range?

Postby Fonso » Mon Aug 27, 2012 7:45 am

Cendorn wrote:So, Arn is standing a couple of meters away from Brynulf. Arn is wielding a short sword (reach S) and Brynulf has his Greataxe (reach L).

Arn wants to move in on Brynulf to attack him.

Since Brynulf has a reach of sizes more, Arn will have to actively close into Close Combat range.

Arn has a SR of 21 and Brynulf is acting on SR 17.

So, on SR 21 Arn declares that he wants to Close. For this he will have to spend a Combat Action. But is it an "extra" Combat Action, or does it also cost him his Strike Rank?

That is will Brynulf first get a free attack when Arn moves into short reach, and then his ordinary attack on SR 17 before Arn can attack him the first time?
OR
Will Arn suffer the free attack (if this is what Brynulf chooses to do), but then he can act in his Strike Rank before Brynulf has a chance to attack him again?

Just changing game after 30 years of Dungeons and Dragons so the details of Legend/RQ still confuses me... :twisted:
Yes, Arn could be attacked twice before can try kill Brynulf, but the second attack is not always the best option.
An example:

1º) Arn's Turn. Arn closes ranged with Brynulf. This one can use one AC own out of his turn to make an attack o move back and try mantain range. If Arn wins, he is inside reach of Brynuff.
2º) Brynulf's turn. He could attack Arn during his action, but if he uses again Arn again and don't kill him, he are going in trouble.
3º) Arn's turn. Now Arn can attack Brynulf, but Brynulf will not be able to parry Arn's attack with his greataxe because is inside range of his own weapon.

Depending on the AC of each character, they even may not be able to do everything. Arn will use 4 AC (Close, parry (out his turn), parry (out his turn) and attack) and Brynuf 3 AC too (Defend agains close (out his turn), attack, parry (out of turn)). Maneouvers could change all, too. Arn could gain a Riposte maneouver, for example, and kill Brynulf during his own turn or disarm him during the close range action.
Cendorn
Cub
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 5:59 am

Re: Two attacks for closing range?

Postby Cendorn » Tue Aug 28, 2012 7:27 am

Thank you!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests