Critical Rune Casting in Elric

Discover the Legend RPG, Mongoose's fantasy game.
Big Orc
Stoat
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:10 pm
Location: Bromsgrove, Worcestershire

Critical Rune Casting in Elric

Postby Big Orc » Thu Aug 23, 2012 8:43 pm

According to the rules, if a Rune Casting(rune) test is a critical the caster uses one less MP to power the Rune, if only one MP is used it is free. What happens if a character inscribes, for example, the Light Rune on a coin, the test result is a critical and the rune activates at no MP cost, according the rules inscribed runes do not lose power until the caster withdraws the MP from it, therefore, the coin will be permanatly 'on' because there are no MP's to be removed from the runes power? Is this correct?
Listern, whatever is behind this door I can handle it....... aggggghhhhh
Matt_H
Weasel
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 11:09 am

Re: Critical Rune Casting in Elric

Postby Matt_H » Fri Aug 24, 2012 9:39 pm

Personally I would say that even with a critical at least one point is required to channel the magical energies and maintain a rune.
Some other benefit could be gained from the critical - an insight into the rune that is rewarded with an advancement roll perhaps, or improved function of the runes effect.
Lives of great men all remind us we may make our lives sublime and departing leave behind us footprints in the sands of time.
DamonJynx
Greater Spotted Mongoose
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 1:32 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Critical Rune Casting in Elric

Postby DamonJynx » Sat Aug 25, 2012 1:08 am

The rules state that it costs the caster 1 MP less to cast the rune on a critical, a 1 MP rune is therefore 'free' to the caster. In the case of an inscribed 1MP rune, the Rune would function as if it had 1 MP invested in it (until the sorcerer decided to de-activate it or he dies, whichever comes first), but that MP is not deducted from the sorcerers total MP. So essentially, you are correct. The item is 'permanently' on.
Glory is the reward of valour.

My blog at damonjynx.blogspot.com
Check out, The Blood Path available NOW!
Arcania of Legend available now!
Bedlam in Blackcliffe available now!
Olaus Petrus
Banded Mongoose
Posts: 209
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 11:48 pm

Re: Critical Rune Casting in Elric

Postby Olaus Petrus » Sun Aug 26, 2012 11:37 am

DamonJynx wrote:The rules state that it costs the caster 1 MP less to cast the rune on a critical, a 1 MP rune is therefore 'free' to the caster. In the case of an inscribed 1MP rune, the Rune would function as if it had 1 MP invested in it (until the sorcerer decided to de-activate it or he dies, whichever comes first), but that MP is not deducted from the sorcerers total MP. So essentially, you are correct. The item is 'permanently' on.
True, only runes which truly last eternally without reactivation are those carved by Lords of the Higher Planes and those rune items are something a wise person might want to avoid. :)

However when you inscribe rune to an item with a critical score, it's good to remember that having a rune permanently on isn't necessarily a good thing, because the effect may not be beneficial in every situation and it can also attract some unwanted attention. So it's likely that sorcerer might want to deactivate it at some point and after that activation costs are normal unless another critical is rolled.
DamonJynx
Greater Spotted Mongoose
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 1:32 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Critical Rune Casting in Elric

Postby DamonJynx » Sun Aug 26, 2012 1:34 pm

Olaus Petrus wrote:
DamonJynx wrote:The rules state that it costs the caster 1 MP less to cast the rune on a critical, a 1 MP rune is therefore 'free' to the caster. In the case of an inscribed 1MP rune, the Rune would function as if it had 1 MP invested in it (until the sorcerer decided to de-activate it or he dies, whichever comes first), but that MP is not deducted from the sorcerers total MP. So essentially, you are correct. The item is 'permanently' on.
True, only runes which truly last eternally without reactivation are those carved by Lords of the Higher Planes and those rune items are something a wise person might want to avoid. :)

However when you inscribe rune to an item with a critical score, it's good to remember that having a rune permanently on isn't necessarily a good thing, because the effect may not be beneficial in every situation and it can also attract some unwanted attention. So it's likely that sorcerer might want to deactivate it at some point and after that activation costs are normal unless another critical is rolled.
+1
Glory is the reward of valour.

My blog at damonjynx.blogspot.com
Check out, The Blood Path available NOW!
Arcania of Legend available now!
Bedlam in Blackcliffe available now!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests