'Evade' skill in combat?

Discover the Legend RPG, Mongoose's fantasy game.
froggymojo
Cub

'Evade' skill in combat?

Postby froggymojo » Mon Jan 09, 2012 4:00 pm

New to the forum. Loving the game. I'm completely new to the Runequest/Legend rule-set so I apologize in advance if the following question appears/is noobish:

Some creatures/monsters obviously do not have the ability to parry (with limbs) but could they use the 'evade' skill instead at a cost of one of their combat actions?

Page 49 of core rules: "Evade is used to escape from impending danger and can be used against ranged weapons (by dodging or diving out of the way), avoiding traps (triggered, sprung or otherwise), changing the engagement distance in combat and generally getting out of the way of a potential physical hazard."

The last part of the sentence leaves the door open to my interpretation... Any thoughts on this?

Cheers,

FM
danskmacabre
Lesser Spotted Mongoose

Re: 'Evade' skill in combat?

Postby danskmacabre » Mon Jan 09, 2012 4:26 pm

yes, Evade can be used to dodge attacks.
The downside of evade is that your next combat action cannot be an attack, as it's assumed by doing an evade, you're not in a position to be able to attack.

Evade is handled in a different way tho, it's an opposed test vs the attack and an all or nothing result.
jwpacker
Mongoose

Postby jwpacker » Mon Jan 09, 2012 5:39 pm

danskmacabre wrote:yes, Evade can be used to dodge attacks.
The downside of evade is that your next combat action cannot be an attack, as it's assumed by doing an evade, you're not in a position to be able to attack.
It's one of the rules I'm least happy with, honestly. An unarmed man fighting a guy with a knife can either never attack, or basically leave himself open for an attack, hoping not to die, before he tries to punch the fellow. I dunno, maybe that's realistic, but it's not terribly exciting and eventually the unarmed fellow is going to die.
danskmacabre
Lesser Spotted Mongoose