RPG Suite

General chat about Mongoose Publishing and its releases
jwlovell
Weasel
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 11:56 pm

RPG Suite

Postby jwlovell » Thu Dec 24, 2015 5:03 pm

Anyone else try this?
Belisknar
Mongoose
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 11:43 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: RPG Suite

Postby Belisknar » Fri Dec 25, 2015 7:23 am

I've been trying to have a look at it with little success. I'm hoping that it's going to be something worth while. I'm fond of digital tools for rpgs and I'm getting involved with an ongoing remote play game. plus it looks like it's planning on being a pretty robust tool for GM's. Once I get the thing working I'll give a more detailed repott.
jwlovell
Weasel
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 11:56 pm

Re: RPG Suite

Postby jwlovell » Sun Jan 03, 2016 12:07 am

To login, you use your first part of your email - but not the @domain.com part.
Last edited by jwlovell on Mon Jan 04, 2016 10:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ShawnDriscoll
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 2512
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:13 pm

Re: RPG Suite

Postby ShawnDriscoll » Sun Jan 03, 2016 2:43 am

I'm uploading a video now, showing chargen and then doing skill checks from the character sheet.
Belisknar
Mongoose
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 11:43 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: RPG Suite

Postby Belisknar » Sun Jan 03, 2016 12:50 pm

I finally got the thing to work after a week of trying to figure it out.

There are some major issues that definitely should have been addressed before it was put out with a price tag.

Unless it is very well hidden, there is absolutely no documentation to assist with using any of this software.
TCG:

EDIT: An official tutorial video for the TCG has been uploaded to the RPGSuite Youtube channel which addresses some of the initial issues I have with the lack of documentation. I still feel however, there should be a readme file of some sort with the installers.
RPGSuite TCG tutorial Video wrote:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tIstKLldiPA

After setup, when you open the program, you are greeted with a login screen.

One would assume you punch in your RPGsuite username/email, this is the case but only mostly. I eventually found that the USERNAME I was expected to use was my email without the @herk.blah at the end and my password was the rpgsuite one tied to said email.

So yesterday, Jan 2nd, Well over a week after purchasing the software. I FINALLY managed to get the login to register.

Then I was greeted by a loading screen... for 5 hours. At least with DCS it was hanging on 99% so I knew it was somewhere near the end. but the TCG didn't have any numerical value to let me know it was anywhere near done. I left my computer and did several other things while I was waiting for this software to complete whatever it was doing. I assumed since I bought the complete package that it was downloading the various databases for careers etc that the free version wouldn't have.. then I realised why would there be seperate downloads for the softwares if that were the case.

Eventually I got back to the computer and saw that both programmes were still hanging. so I just closed both. Apparently this was the correct thing to do as when I relaunched them to try again they started as they were supposed to.

I've created several characters using the TCG, only one of which I have been able to access in DCS whatever magic trick I pulled to make this occur I have yet to be able to repeat. when I first launched the DCS program it told me there were no characters found. after closing and relaunching it found the one character I had at the time. Frankly, if you aren't able to load your characters in the DCS then what is the point of the character generator in the TCG.

There are more bugs in the TCG during chargen that I will make a seperate post for when I have a more comprehensive list.

I really do have high hopes for this software. They really should have just gotten it to work properly before pushing it out to the public for $40.

2ND EDIT:
In the video they note a bug report page that we can use

https://rpgsuite.zendesk.com/hc/en-us
Last edited by Belisknar on Thu Jan 07, 2016 1:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
AndrewW
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 4058
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 11:57 pm

Re: RPG Suite

Postby AndrewW » Sun Jan 03, 2016 5:42 pm

Belisknar wrote:There are some major issues that definitely should have been addressed before it was put out with a price tag.
Sounds like it should have had more work done before any sort of release.

You should send the feedback to them to make sure they are aware of all the issues, can help with development.
ShawnDriscoll
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 2512
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:13 pm

Re: RPG Suite

Postby ShawnDriscoll » Sun Jan 03, 2016 7:51 pm

The first time you run TCG, it logs into the server and downloads the modules linked to your apps account. I waited about 3 minutes the first time I ran it (while it installed all the careers besides Drifter). It starts instantly for me after that. I'm using Windows 7 Pro 64-bit.
TrippyHippy
Greater Spotted Mongoose
Posts: 1072
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 9:33 am
Location: NZ

Re: RPG Suite

Postby TrippyHippy » Sun Jan 03, 2016 9:37 pm

It took an age for it to load while on holiday, but was better when I got back home. The major issue is that my current PC is only 32 bit, but most of the programmes are for 64 bit. Moreover, what I'd really hope for is something that is useable on tablets and smartphones - an app, basically.
Outtasight!
Nerhesi
Duck-Billed Mongoose
Posts: 1525
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 3:46 pm

Re: RPG Suite

Postby Nerhesi » Mon Jan 04, 2016 7:36 pm

Its taking in excess of 30 minutes to download for me. Question, does it restart the download anew if you quit in the middle of it?
jwlovell
Weasel
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 11:56 pm

Re: RPG Suite

Postby jwlovell » Mon Jan 04, 2016 10:18 pm

Just got a call from Noah at RPG Suite. He was very helpful in getting me past some of the issues I was having. They are working like mad to add more of the features of this platform, including improvements on the quality of the graphics and some bug fixes in a release probably tonight or tomorrow. He didn't know about the forum discussion here, and promised to pop on and address any concerns. He also indicated that support could be had at:

support@rpgsuite.zendesk.com
Grazelander
Stoat
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 1:31 pm
Location: Mandeville, LA

Re: RPG Suite

Postby Grazelander » Tue Jan 05, 2016 3:09 am

I had the same confusion over passwords and user name but figured it out just before a very rapid response from the support email, so give them a chance if you're struggling.

I use a high end iMac and both programs load up in just seconds, I suspect the 32 bit users or low graphic cards are those struggling, it's pretty graphic intensive.

Although I wasn't particularly impressed but the 3D characters displayed, the ability to upload your own is a nice touch.

I ran through two characters this weekend and did not have any obvious errors. Some problems getting the connections between contacts to work properly but it was probably operator error. Looking forward to working with it further next week.
Nerhesi
Duck-Billed Mongoose
Posts: 1525
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 3:46 pm

Re: RPG Suite

Postby Nerhesi » Tue Jan 05, 2016 5:10 pm

Mine never finishes patching/downloading the core rules that I purchased.... it's been nearly 14+ hours. Spent in 2-4 hour chunks.
anari
Cub
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 3:32 am

Re: RPG Suite

Postby anari » Thu Jan 14, 2016 5:00 am

Hi,
This is Noah from RPGsuite. I've applied to mongoose for an RPGsuite account to answer questions here on the forum, but it's still pending. In the meantime, I'm using my personal account to answer some of the questions that you guys have.

First, thank you all very much for your feedback. It's been extraordinarily helpful, please keep it coming!

I've got a couple of pieces of good news for you. First there is a new build available, as part of our continuous improvement process. You can obtain it by logging in to RPGsuite, clicking on My Account, scrolling down to Available Downloads and clicking on the appropriate link for your platform. The current release addresses several things that were in Shawn's video including:

* You can now log in with the email address you signed up to RPGsuite with in addition to your account name
* TCG: Ensuring that Basic Training Skills for your second and subsequent career are clearly indicated at level 0, rather than +1
* TCG: It no longer rolls qualification for careers that your character has 100% chance to qualify for.
* TCG: When aging it informs you that all three of your physical stats have been reduced in cases where you lose points from Dex, Str, and End rather than making you select all 3 individually
* DCS: Issues where some users couldn't seem to purchase or equip equipment have been resolved
* DCS: When using the generic ROLL features, bonuses (or penalties) from stats you drag in are now correctly calculated
* Bug fixes for downloads and initially log in to expedite the process and ensure completion have gone in.

To answer some specific questions, No, you don't have to be online to use the product. You just have to login the initially time to download any material you've purchased.
@Nerhesi download the latest version and see if this addresses your issue.
We continue to work to improve the speed to the UK, Europe, and Australia.
We do have higher poly count Avatars we'd like to integrate. The current ones are "lower res" because we were trying to ensure that lower end platforms would still be performant.
TrippyHippy
Greater Spotted Mongoose
Posts: 1072
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 9:33 am
Location: NZ

Re: RPG Suite

Postby TrippyHippy » Fri Jan 15, 2016 12:01 am

Hi Noah,

Thanks for the response to the feedback - it is appreciated.

Another question is when do we get the spaceship and world designs?

Ta,

Rory
Outtasight!
TrippyHippy
Greater Spotted Mongoose
Posts: 1072
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 9:33 am
Location: NZ

Re: RPG Suite

Postby TrippyHippy » Fri Jan 15, 2016 12:01 am

Hi Noah,

Thanks for the response to the feedback - it is appreciated.

Another question is when do we get the spaceship and world designs?

Ta,

Rory
Outtasight!
denis
Weasel
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2015 8:05 pm

Re: RPG Suite

Postby denis » Fri Jan 15, 2016 7:03 pm

This looks interesting. Just wondering if it uses the beta rules or the 1st edition of MGT?
TrippyHippy
Greater Spotted Mongoose
Posts: 1072
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 9:33 am
Location: NZ

Re: RPG Suite

Postby TrippyHippy » Fri Jan 15, 2016 10:56 pm

Developed alongside the beta as part of 2nd Edition plans.
Outtasight!
Merxiless
Shrew
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:52 am

Re: RPG Suite

Postby Merxiless » Thu Mar 10, 2016 6:23 am

I am a Traveller fanatic, since 1977.
I downloaded this, and it runs great.

I bought the core pack for the 39.00 or whatever it was.
Customer support is excellent. Emails within a few hours. Very polite and to the point resppnses.

Downloads are fast, even from Thailand (Where I am retired).

I have yearned for this kind of character generator since secrets of the Ancients.

One hope for the future, and I asked for this feature via emails, some way to edit homeworlds for those of us that have completely homebrew Traveller campaigns.

I look forward to assisting the crew with working out bugs, typos and gameplay stuff. I am a solid believer here in this newest edition to the Traveller tools I use.

Great job, can't say enough how much I am liking this software- but I just tried.

-Merxiless
snrdg121408
Greater Spotted Mongoose
Posts: 1025
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 3:17 am
Location: Roy, WA USA

Re: RPG Suite

Postby snrdg121408 » Sat Mar 26, 2016 1:42 am

Hello all,

Looks like I have another product to add to my wish list.

Did I miss the answer for when the spacecraft and world software will be available?

I did check out their site without finding any information.
snrdg121408 (aka Tom R)
akalrs
Shrew
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 7:57 am

Re: RPG Suite

Postby akalrs » Sun Mar 27, 2016 1:56 pm

On my Mac the tool use an insane amount of CPU just to show the main menu. This makes my laptop unbearable hot in a short time. I have discovered that if I use a program called cputhrottle I can limit the CPU usage. By limiting it to 60% it still runs at acceptable speed with out making my laptop overheat. I have reported the problem to the developers, but wanted to share the workaround if anyone else is having the same problem.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests