Paranoia Mandatory Card Game Questions

Paranoia is Fun. Other games are not Fun. Buy Paranoia.
lastbesthope
Executive Mongoose
Posts: 19697
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:27 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Paranoia Mandatory Card Game Questions

Postby lastbesthope » Fri Oct 27, 2006 7:48 pm

Someone emailed me with these questions on the crad game and I don't have the time or the brainpower to answer them tonight so I thought I'd post them here. Thanks from me and him for the help.

LBH
I'm having difficulty posting to the forum. I tried to
register, but haven't received any confirmation. When
I try to log in, I'm told that my account is inactive
and to contact the forum admin. Yet there is no
information on how to contact the forum admin.

I've three questions about the Card Game rules.

Questions:

1) When Security Clearances are assigned (say during
the Mission Debriefing), what is the order of
promotion? We've been playing that the Team Leader
gets promoted first, and then in a clockwise order
around the table. However, a rather good argument was
brought up. It was suggested that we should first
promote by treason tokens, and then by your positional
relationship to the team leader.

2) At which point does the bouns for exposing traitors
apply? Is it after all cards are played? After all
cards relating to the card which assigned the treason
tokens are played? Or immediately after the card is
played? The specific situation that we encountered
was that one troubleshooter played a Tactical Genuis,
which assigned everyone enough treason tokens to make
us all traitors. Then one of the other
troubleshooters played the Spurious Logic card
assigning all treason tokens that they recieved to the
troubleshooter who played the Tactical Genuis card.
So does the remove treason token bouns apply before or
after the effects of the Spurious Logic card?

3) Can a troubleshooter play a "play anytime" card
after a player has played his last card (e.g. can you
cancel the effect of another troubleshooters last
card, or does the round end the instant they lay it
down? For example, can a troubleshooter play a Docbot
card after having been killed by a Plasma Canon, which
was the last card the troubleshooter whose turn it was
had.

Comment:

We've noticed that losing clones has no effect on who
wins (other than the first troubleshooter to lose
their last clone is demoted one security clearance).
This seems a silly concept since the punishment for
treason is termination not demotion. Surviving
(staying loyal and not dying) is not rewarded during
the end game.

Thanks for any help,
jp
I'll live forever, heaven won't let me in and hell's afraid I'll take over!!!

Mongoose Accolades
PaulB
Lesser Spotted Mongoose
Posts: 411
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 8:26 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Paranoia Mandatory Card Game Questions

Postby PaulB » Sat Oct 28, 2006 9:04 am

We've noticed that losing clones has no effect on who wins (other than the first troubleshooter to lose their last clone is demoted one security clearance). This seems a silly concept since the punishment for treason is termination not demotion. Surviving (staying loyal and not dying) is not rewarded during the end game.
While not necessarily a solution to your issue, I have proposed some alternative punishments in my article No Terminations on OmegaComplex. It makes the game a little more complicated for those who commit treason, without just terminating their clone.

Paul
Marketeer and partner for the All Rolled Up gaming companion
Blogger on boreders
Author of numerous gaming supplements
MarkIV
Weasel
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 6:04 pm

Postby MarkIV » Mon Oct 30, 2006 2:27 pm

Hi JP,

I'll start by addressing your comment. I've submitted the expansion set to Mongoose and hopefully it will be coming out soon. In it I recommended to Mongoose that you are out of the game if you lose your last clone (you do not win) and -- big change -- that Traitors automatically lose a Security Clearance when they die.

Since I started at the bottom of your list, I'll continue to work backwards...

3. Yes you can play Play Anytime cards immediately after someone plays their last card. Your example of playing a Docbot to counter the Plasma Cannon's effect is correct.

2. The token removal happens... then the Spurious Logic is applied. (P.S. Very good question. I don't remember this ever happening in the play tests. I can see where a good arguement could be made for the other interpretation.)

1. Security Clearance changes occur simultaneously. The number of available Security Clearance cards does not limit the number of players who can be a particular Security Clearance. I have seen some discussion on this board from people who like to play that the number of Security Clearance cards does limit the number of clones at any given level. If you are doing it this way then promote the TL first and go clockwise from there. (If you went by Treason tokens it could get way to messy with -- what about ties -- what is the tie breaker for the tie breaker: position, current security clearance, whether you are being promoted or demoted, etc.)

Hope this helps. Feel free to send me any more questions directly and I'll post them for you.

Sincerely,
Steve Gilbert
sgilbert1@carolina.rr.com
Steve Gilbert
Cerebellum Core Sample Facilitator/Happiness Officer
shnar
Weasel
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 7:25 am
Contact:

Postby shnar » Sun Nov 05, 2006 8:28 am

MarkIV wrote:1. Security Clearance changes occur simultaneously. The number of available Security Clearance cards does not limit the number of players who can be a particular Security Clearance. I have seen some discussion on this board from people who like to play that the number of Security Clearance cards does limit the number of clones at any given level. If you are doing it this way then promote the TL first and go clockwise from there. (If you went by Treason tokens it could get way to messy with -- what about ties -- what is the tie breaker for the tie breaker: position, current security clearance, whether you are being promoted or demoted, etc.)
I remember reading in the rules that stated that there were limited security clearance cards making it that there could only be 1 UV player, etc. Did I misread that? (don't have rules in front of me to quote them)

-shnar
lastbesthope
Executive Mongoose
Posts: 19697
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:27 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Postby lastbesthope » Sun Nov 05, 2006 8:06 pm

I remember that too, but I coulodn't find it when I looked in the rules for it.

LBH
I'll live forever, heaven won't let me in and hell's afraid I'll take over!!!

Mongoose Accolades
MarkIV
Weasel
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 6:04 pm

Postby MarkIV » Tue Nov 07, 2006 12:11 am

Yes, the card limitation is definitely in the rules. That was my bad. Just one of those funny things that happens when you as designer hand off a game... sometimes changes are made in devlopment that you are unaware of. My apologies if my previous answer caused confusion.

Given the card limitation... the TL gets promoted first and it proceeds clockwise from there. If the TL is not getting promoted just go clockwise from him/her.

Steve Gilbert
Steve Gilbert
Cerebellum Core Sample Facilitator/Happiness Officer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest