Talent Trees in JDMG

Discuss Mongoose miniatures game here, including Mighty Armies, Gangs of Mega-City One, and Battlefield Evolution.
User avatar
danty2001ad
Shrew
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 5:06 pm
Location: Kent, United Kingdom

Talent Trees in JDMG

Postby danty2001ad » Sun May 05, 2013 6:25 pm

Hi everyone.

Quick question (I've had a look round the forum, but my search-fu is weak). :roll:

With regard to Talents, is the previous talent in the tree a prerequisite, even if not listed as such? For instance, could I pick Silent Action from the "Sneaky Does It" talent tree (pg54 HB Rulebook) even if I don't have Stealthy?

Another example. If I don't have to follow the trees in a linear fashion, it seems I could take Die Harder from the "True Hero" talent tree without first having taken Die Hard. Seems odd (yes, I realise Die Harder doesn't work without Die Hard, but its not a noted prerequisite, and its just an illustration of my point, which I am fumbling around to make!).

I can't find any direct reference to it in the rules, so any help gratefully received.

Apologies if I have overlooked the obvious somewhere.

Many thanks in advance.

D
All these moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain.
User avatar
Greg Smith
Warlord Mongoose
Posts: 8849
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 10:58 am
Location: Kettering UK
Contact:

Re: Talent Trees in JDMG

Postby Greg Smith » Sun May 05, 2013 7:11 pm

Yes, you need the previous talent in the tree.

It is somewhat that the rules don't explain that explicitly.
"Bringer of Warmth, Carrier of Carrion, Prophet of Dilgarness, Speaker of all thing Llort!"

Part-time Narn.

ACTA playtester
Victorious Grand Admiral
User avatar
danty2001ad
Shrew
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 5:06 pm
Location: Kent, United Kingdom

Re: Talent Trees in JDMG

Postby danty2001ad » Sun May 05, 2013 7:34 pm

Great, thanks very much for the help.

D
All these moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain.
User avatar
WereRogue
Banded Mongoose
Posts: 312
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 2:18 am
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Re: Talent Trees in JDMG

Postby WereRogue » Wed May 15, 2013 7:09 am

If the tree goes straight across:

Talent1 > Talent 2 > Talent 3 > Talent 4

You have to take them in that order. However, if the branches go downward:

Code: Select all

Talent1 > Talent 2 > Talent 3
         |        |
     Talent 1a   Talent 2a
         |        |
     Talent 1b   Talent 2b
Then you can take either Talent 1a or Talent 1b so long as you have Talent 1. In order to take either Talent 2a or 2b, you have to have Talent 2 first.

Make sense?

-Ken
Image
User avatar
danty2001ad
Shrew
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 5:06 pm
Location: Kent, United Kingdom

Re: Talent Trees in JDMG

Postby danty2001ad » Wed May 15, 2013 11:17 pm

Yes, it does.

Thanks for the added clarification, much appreciated.

D
All these moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 77 guests