Point Value, just curious

Discuss Mongoose miniatures game here, including Mighty Armies, Gangs of Mega-City One, and Battlefield Evolution.
Lone Gunman
Mongoose

Point Value, just curious

Postby Lone Gunman » Fri Oct 12, 2007 4:18 pm

I've been playing ActA for several months now and like 2nd Ed (ok apart fromt the new beams/crit-table which is not as good as I hope and encouragement of swarm fleets) . So, yesterday evening after a game and perhaps a drink too much I began to wondered why ActA uses priority levels. Would a standard point value as any other tabletop out there also do the job and make it eventually easier to balance ships?

Just curious. :|
Silvereye
Duck-Billed Mongoose

Postby Silvereye » Fri Oct 12, 2007 4:20 pm

The priority level system makes building fleets dead easy and quick. So rather then wondering about what combination of x and y and z upgrade cost and the army list quadratic equations that go with them, you can choose a fleet and begin playing in about 2 minutes.

Still not sure on the beams either. That one random hit of many, many dice that swings the battle....
Andy W
Collector of dead wargames
nekomata fuyu
Greater Spotted Mongoose

Postby nekomata fuyu » Fri Oct 12, 2007 4:54 pm

That argument works well apart from the minor issue of the priority level system making fleet selection relatively slow and cumbersome. Rather than having to refer to FAQs on how you can and can't split your FAPs, with a numerical points based system you can quickly choose a fleet using that wonderful skill of addition that most of us learn in primary school :D
My guess is that the priority level system is MGP's brainchild, and like any good parent it's hard to turn your back on your child no mater how ugly they turn out to be.
Keep Death off the roads - clamp Binky!

Wanted: Federation Fast Cruisers (PM with offers)
Delthos
Banded Mongoose

Postby Delthos » Fri Oct 12, 2007 6:11 pm