Ancients campaign fleets?

Discuss Mongoose miniatures game here, including Mighty Armies, Gangs of Mega-City One, and Battlefield Evolution.
User avatar
Burger
Warlord Mongoose
Posts: 8150
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 3:44 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby Burger » Fri Oct 06, 2006 1:25 pm

You can always ram the Vorlon, that should.... err oh you have 200 hitpoints and adaptive armour...

Thats a point, how does ramming affect ancients? They take damage of half your starting damage value plus d6 crits??
Pray that there's intelligent life somewhere up in space,
Cos there's bugger all down here on Earth.

Image
User avatar
Lord David the Denied
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 4260
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Northampton, UK

Postby Lord David the Denied » Fri Oct 06, 2006 1:36 pm

Critical hits are 7 damage each, aren't they? Or is it 6+1D6?
captainsmirk
Greater Spotted Mongoose
Posts: 1034
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 11:31 am
Location: Limbo

Postby captainsmirk » Fri Oct 06, 2006 1:37 pm

Fish-men...?

Oh wait I see, the Abbai, NOT the Dilgar...

Nick
Captain Sheridan you're under arrest for a clear violation of the laws of physics!
User avatar
Burger
Warlord Mongoose
Posts: 8150
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 3:44 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby Burger » Fri Oct 06, 2006 1:46 pm

Lord David the Denied wrote:Critical hits are 7 damage each, aren't they? Or is it 6+1D6?
6+1d6... that is actually going to hurt...
Pray that there's intelligent life somewhere up in space,
Cos there's bugger all down here on Earth.

Image
User avatar
Wulf Corbett
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 4314
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 9:19 pm
Location: Scotland

Postby Wulf Corbett » Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:15 pm

locarno24 wrote:It's the Dilgar/Vorlon match that must have been messy - look, our bolters achive....err.....well, sod all, frankly. And you can't immobilise these things no matter what you hit them with, so that's mass drivers out.
Yup, very poor match. However, by concentrating Pentacons, I did eliminate two Destroyers in one Turn. Unfortunately he then eliminated one Pentacon in the same time... With all the Heavy Dilgar pondrously lumbering unto range, his Transports bugged out, leaving a Cruiser & Heavy Cruiser. After a single pass, when we were both facing opposite directions to one another, we waved goodbye - I'd certainly have lost too many ships to replace, and he couldn't afford the risk of losing the Cruiser.

Counting VP, he won... by ONE SINGLE VP!!!

Damn...

WUlf
User avatar
Wulf Corbett
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 4314
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 9:19 pm
Location: Scotland

Postby Wulf Corbett » Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:17 pm

Lord David the Denied wrote:Critical hits are 7 damage each, aren't they? Or is it 6+1D6?
Not quite, if you have a Precise Weapon and roll a 6 on damage it does 1d6+6. But only if the weapon is Precise.

Wulf
User avatar
Burger
Warlord Mongoose
Posts: 8150
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 3:44 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby Burger » Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:20 pm

Wulf Corbett wrote:
Lord David the Denied wrote:Critical hits are 7 damage each, aren't they? Or is it 6+1D6?
Not quite, if you have a Precise Weapon and roll a 6 on damage it does 1d6+6. But only if the weapon is Precise.

Wulf
We're talking about ramming a Vorlon. Inflicts 1d6 criticals. A "critical" on the Vorlon damage chart, does 6+1d6 damage.
Pray that there's intelligent life somewhere up in space,
Cos there's bugger all down here on Earth.

Image
User avatar
Reaverman
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 3778
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 8:29 pm
Location: Camberley/Surrey/UK
Contact:

Postby Reaverman » Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:25 pm

Burger wrote:
Wulf Corbett wrote:
Lord David the Denied wrote:Critical hits are 7 damage each, aren't they? Or is it 6+1D6?
Not quite, if you have a Precise Weapon and roll a 6 on damage it does 1d6+6. But only if the weapon is Precise.

Wulf
We're talking about ramming a Vorlon. Inflicts 1d6 criticals. A "critical" on the Vorlon damage chart, does 6+1d6 damage.
Would'nt it be something like roll a D6 and that then becomes the number of D6+6 critical hits?
Last edited by Reaverman on Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

Free Hiffano's Mothership!
User avatar
Burger
Warlord Mongoose
Posts: 8150
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 3:44 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby Burger » Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:26 pm

Reaverman wrote:Would'nt it be something like roll a D6 and that them becomes the number of D6+6 critical hits?
Yeah, roll a d6 for the number of criticals. Each critical is then 6+ another d6 of damage (halved for AA of course...)
Pray that there's intelligent life somewhere up in space,
Cos there's bugger all down here on Earth.

Image
User avatar
Wulf Corbett
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 4314
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 9:19 pm
Location: Scotland

Postby Wulf Corbett » Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:28 pm

Burger wrote:We're talking about ramming a Vorlon. Inflicts 1d6 criticals. A "critical" on the Vorlon damage chart, does 6+1d6 damage.
That's the problem, that entry isn't for Crits, it's for damage rolls of 7, which THEN get called crits. Without Precise, you can't get a result of 7. You can houserule it, but as the rules stand it don't work.

Wulf
User avatar
H
Chief Mongoose
Posts: 6224
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 4:29 pm
Location: Here

Postby H » Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:29 pm

Wulf Corbett wrote:
locarno24 wrote:It's the Dilgar/Vorlon match that must have been messy - look, our bolters achive....err.....well, sod all, frankly. And you can't immobilise these things no matter what you hit them with, so that's mass drivers out.
Yup, very poor match. However, by concentrating Pentacons, I did eliminate two Destroyers in one Turn. Unfortunately he then eliminated one Pentacon in the same time... With all the Heavy Dilgar pondrously lumbering unto range, his Transports bugged out, leaving a Cruiser & Heavy Cruiser. After a single pass, when we were both facing opposite directions to one another, we waved goodbye - I'd certainly have lost too many ships to replace, and he couldn't afford the risk of losing the Cruiser.

Counting VP, he won... by ONE SINGLE VP!!!

Damn...

WUlf
VP's can be a pain, I stayed on the table when my opponent bugged out once, and lost by one VP. althoguh we had both spent 3 rounds just intercepting each others shots
I AM RONIN!
User avatar
Reaverman
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 3778
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 8:29 pm
Location: Camberley/Surrey/UK
Contact:

Postby Reaverman » Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:39 pm

Wulf Corbett wrote:
Burger wrote:We're talking about ramming a Vorlon. Inflicts 1d6 criticals. A "critical" on the Vorlon damage chart, does 6+1d6 damage.
That's the problem, that entry isn't for Crits, it's for damage rolls of 7, which THEN get called crits. Without Precise, you can't get a result of 7. You can houserule it, but as the rules stand it don't work.

Wulf
in SFOS damage was done to Ancient as;

D6 Effect
1 Solid Hit: 1 point of Damage
2 Solid Hit: 2 points of Damage
3 Solid Hit: 3 points of Damage
4 Solid Hit: 4 points of Damage
5 Solid Hit: 5 points of Damage
6 Solid Hit: 6 points of Damage
7 Critical Hit: D6 + 6 points of Damage

Surely, thats how you would work out crit damage?
Image

Free Hiffano's Mothership!
User avatar
Wulf Corbett
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 4314
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 9:19 pm
Location: Scotland

Postby Wulf Corbett » Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:47 pm

Reaverman wrote:in SFOS damage was done to Ancient as;

D6 Effect
1 Solid Hit: 1 point of Damage
2 Solid Hit: 2 points of Damage
3 Solid Hit: 3 points of Damage
4 Solid Hit: 4 points of Damage
5 Solid Hit: 5 points of Damage
6 Solid Hit: 6 points of Damage
7 Critical Hit: D6 + 6 points of Damage

Surely, thats how you would work out crit damage?
Exactly. So, how do you get a D6 result of 7 without Precise?

Wulf
User avatar
Burger
Warlord Mongoose
Posts: 8150
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 3:44 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby Burger » Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:48 pm

Wulf Corbett wrote:
Reaverman wrote:in SFOS damage was done to Ancient as;

D6 Effect
1 Solid Hit: 1 point of Damage
2 Solid Hit: 2 points of Damage
3 Solid Hit: 3 points of Damage
4 Solid Hit: 4 points of Damage
5 Solid Hit: 5 points of Damage
6 Solid Hit: 6 points of Damage
7 Critical Hit: D6 + 6 points of Damage

Surely, thats how you would work out crit damage?
Exactly. So, how do you get a D6 result of 7 without Precise?

Wulf
You don't need to get 7, cos you get free criticals.
There is no roll on the damage table; you automatically get 1d6 criticals.
Pray that there's intelligent life somewhere up in space,
Cos there's bugger all down here on Earth.

Image
User avatar
Reaverman
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 3778
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 8:29 pm
Location: Camberley/Surrey/UK
Contact:

Postby Reaverman » Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:52 pm

Burger wrote:
Wulf Corbett wrote:
Reaverman wrote:in SFOS damage was done to Ancient as;

D6 Effect
1 Solid Hit: 1 point of Damage
2 Solid Hit: 2 points of Damage
3 Solid Hit: 3 points of Damage
4 Solid Hit: 4 points of Damage
5 Solid Hit: 5 points of Damage
6 Solid Hit: 6 points of Damage
7 Critical Hit: D6 + 6 points of Damage

Surely, thats how you would work out crit damage?
Exactly. So, how do you get a D6 result of 7 without Precise?

Wulf
You don't need to get 7, cos you get free criticals.
There is no roll on the damage table; you automatically get 1d6 criticals.
To further this, I have posted on Rulesmasters

http://www.mongoosepublishing.com/phpBB ... hp?t=15411
Image

Free Hiffano's Mothership!
User avatar
Wulf Corbett
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 4314
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 9:19 pm
Location: Scotland

Postby Wulf Corbett » Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:54 pm

Burger wrote:
Wulf Corbett wrote:
Reaverman wrote:in SFOS damage was done to Ancient as;

D6 Effect
1 Solid Hit: 1 point of Damage
2 Solid Hit: 2 points of Damage
3 Solid Hit: 3 points of Damage
4 Solid Hit: 4 points of Damage
5 Solid Hit: 5 points of Damage
6 Solid Hit: 6 points of Damage
7 Critical Hit: D6 + 6 points of Damage

Surely, thats how you would work out crit damage?
Exactly. So, how do you get a D6 result of 7 without Precise?

Wulf
You don't need to get 7, cos you get free criticals.
There is no roll on the damage table; you automatically get 1d6 criticals.
But there IS a roll on the Ancients Damage table. You need a 7 to get D6+6. No rule includes any exception to this. Non Precise weapons rolling a 6 do not get criticals on this table, so neither does ramming. You can houserule it if you like, but there is no such rule currently in ACtA SFoS or any supplement nor errata.

Wulf
User avatar
Reaverman
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 3778
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 8:29 pm
Location: Camberley/Surrey/UK
Contact:

Postby Reaverman » Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:57 pm

Wulf Corbett wrote:
Burger wrote:
Wulf Corbett wrote: Exactly. So, how do you get a D6 result of 7 without Precise?

Wulf
You don't need to get 7, cos you get free criticals.
There is no roll on the damage table; you automatically get 1d6 criticals.
But there IS a roll on the Ancients Damage table. You need a 7 to get D6+6. No rule includes any exception to this. Non Precise weapons rolling a 6 do not get criticals on this table, so neither does ramming. You can houserule it if you like, but there is no such rule currently in ACtA SFoS or any supplement nor errata.

Wulf
Wulf, the damage table states that a '7' result is a Critical. If a Ram cause D6 Criticals, it should equate the same as a critical hit on an ancient. I am sure that 5000+ tons of metal smashing into something, could be seen as Precise :wink:
Last edited by Reaverman on Fri Oct 06, 2006 3:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

Free Hiffano's Mothership!
User avatar
H
Chief Mongoose
Posts: 6224
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 4:29 pm
Location: Here

Postby H » Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:58 pm

if it says you crit, you damn well crit, why do people have to be so damn rules mongery about this stuff.
I AM RONIN!
User avatar
Burger
Warlord Mongoose
Posts: 8150
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 3:44 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby Burger » Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:58 pm

Wulf Corbett wrote:But there IS a roll on the Ancients Damage table. You need a 7 to get D6+6. No rule includes any exception to this. Non Precise weapons rolling a 6 do not get criticals on this table, so neither does ramming. You can houserule it if you like, but there is no such rule currently in ACtA SFoS or any supplement nor errata.
So when you ram a non-ancient, do you need to roll a 6 on the damage table? I think not.
So why do you need to roll a 7 on the damage table for ancients?
Pray that there's intelligent life somewhere up in space,
Cos there's bugger all down here on Earth.

Image
User avatar
Voronesh
Greater Spotted Mongoose
Posts: 1180
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 7:11 pm
Location: Heidelberg

Postby Voronesh » Fri Oct 06, 2006 3:07 pm

I think this a bad case of.

2 different conversations in the same thread.

DIlgar cant get their Masters of destrcution rule off. But Ramming will deal lots and lots of damage to Ancients via crits and not via the half mx damage way.......
"We are out of energy mines sir!"
"What? When did logistics stop supplying us?"
"2nd edition, sir."


Don't mind me, im just playing Devil's Advocate of the Shuuka.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests