Battlefield Evolution query

Discuss Mongoose miniatures game here, including Mighty Armies, Gangs of Mega-City One, and Battlefield Evolution.
User avatar
locarno24
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 3163
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Wildly Variable

Battlefield Evolution query

Postby locarno24 » Mon Aug 31, 2020 4:04 pm

Just came up reading through the old books, and I can't find an answer.

"Whenever an enemy unit completes a shoot action against one of your units" is a trigger for a reaction, but what does this actually mean?

~ Only the unit that the model you initially targeted (i.e. the one the fire zone is measured from) belongs to?

~ Any unit which has one or more damage dice assigned to at least one of its models?

~ Any unit with one or more models in the fire zone, even if none of them have damage dice assigned?
Understand that I'm not advocating violence.
I'm just saying that it's highly effective and I strongly recommend using it.
User avatar
MongooseMatt
Site Admin
Posts: 15163
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2003 4:25 pm

Re: Battlefield Evolution query

Postby MongooseMatt » Tue Sep 01, 2020 9:08 am

Initially targeted - units under fire tend to either move or shoot back!
Matthew Sprange

Mongoose Publishing
http://www.mongoosepublishing.com
User avatar
locarno24
Cosmic Mongoose
Posts: 3163
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Wildly Variable

Re: Battlefield Evolution query

Postby locarno24 » Wed Sep 02, 2020 8:00 am

Thanks.

I was looking at some house rules I did a while back for using Battlefield Evo to do more detailed dogfighting for Babylon 5 fighters.
The situation came up where one unit was caught in a fire zone centred on a second, and I wasn't actually sure if the first unit was eligible to react as well or not.
Understand that I'm not advocating violence.
I'm just saying that it's highly effective and I strongly recommend using it.
User avatar
basaint
Lesser Spotted Mongoose
Posts: 495
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 6:33 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA

Re: Battlefield Evolution query

Postby basaint » Sat Apr 03, 2021 12:39 am

Stumbled on this and thought id add.

the verbage can be tricky but we read it as, if action ends within 10in or you get shot at, you can react. Number of units reacting is up to the defender (that met the criteria) and its only 1 reaction per turn.
This would then apply if 2 units fall under 1 lethal zone which is referred to on page 15, the 3rd paragraph down.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 41 guests