Help for a noobie?

Discuss Mongoose RPGs here, such as the OGL rulebooks, Jeremiah, Armageddon 2089 and Macho Women with Guns
GurgleSnuff
Stoat

Help for a noobie?

Postby GurgleSnuff » Wed May 23, 2007 4:50 pm

Now that I'm reading the source book and got some pre made stories to run like "danger in the westmark" and the coming of Hanuman" etc...
What I need to know is about the time frames in Conan Rpg. After the lesser cataclysm how do one count years and months. And in which time period is best for playing? Im a noob to conan rpg, and im also reading the complete chronicles of conan- centanary ed. while studying the rpg game. I have of course read conan comics and seen all the movies, so Im not a complete noob. Played RPG's for 15 years, but never runned myself as an dungeon master/storyteller. But I wanted to imply a change within the group Im with. So I thought Conan would be something they appreciated.
Any good tips is appreciated.
And more questions will come!

Thanks!
Aholibamah
Banded Mongoose

Postby Aholibamah » Wed May 23, 2007 5:05 pm

http://www.dodgenet.com/~moonblossom/timeline.htm

Check this out, this may help.

Also: it might be easier to think of which stories you like best first--what inspires you the most? Have you read any of the books? The comics are often based on the novels so it may help to consider what you liked best and go with that.
GurgleSnuff
Stoat

Postby GurgleSnuff » Wed May 23, 2007 5:34 pm

So what U are saying is that I should concentrate more about the story than the actual timeline? Its after the cataclysm, so basically thats what is important. And its well into the evolving stages of the civilisations? So if I want to let the players start when Conana is born that would be allright? But who is King of aquilonia then? How do I get to know these "facts"? Or do i make'em up? hehe...Im a noob and have a lot to learn:)
VincentDarlage
Duck-Billed Mongoose

Postby VincentDarlage » Wed May 23, 2007 6:07 pm