Search found 126 matches

by Belisknar
Sat Oct 24, 2015 1:26 am
Forum: Traveller
Topic: Failure to enter pre career education means...
Replies: 2
Views: 285

Re: Failure to enter pre career education means...

If you fail to enter university or a military academy you continue as if you hadn't tried. You can attempt to enter any career. A Traveller can select university or military academy education, making a roll for successful entry. If this is failed, the Traveller must immediately attempt entry into a ...
by Belisknar
Thu Oct 22, 2015 5:41 pm
Forum: Traveller
Topic: Melee attacks and pistols
Replies: 9
Views: 922

Re: Melee attacks and pistols

Currently, if we follow the rules shooting someone with a piston, who is attacking you in melee, will have +1 to hit due the range (under 25% of max range). A piston would be a makeshift melee weapon and would only have a range if you are throwing it... I'm pretty sure he meant pistol... I think ar...
by Belisknar
Sun Oct 18, 2015 10:21 pm
Forum: Traveller
Topic: University Education Bonus
Replies: 8
Views: 1204

Re: University Education Bonus

The thing is they are seperate benefits, for different parts of the university process. One is during entry, while the other during graduation. I will conceed, putting in the "additional" would make it more clear but as it stands there is enough seperation that there should be 2 Di throws before you...
by Belisknar
Sun Oct 18, 2015 3:58 pm
Forum: Traveller
Topic: University Education Bonus
Replies: 8
Views: 1204

Re: University Education Bonus

I agree with those seeking clarification. Is it an additional +2 EDU (i.e. +3 in total) when honours are gained, or simply +2 EDU by the end of the term (i.e. honours grants an additional +1 EDU)? (I don't see how this can be written any more clearly, the two increases are separate bullets, in sepa...
by Belisknar
Thu Oct 15, 2015 4:42 am
Forum: Traveller
Topic: Gender Neutrality
Replies: 45
Views: 5794

Re: Gender Neutrality

One thing which I have noticed, it is a thing which bugs me about a lot of writing (especially games where characters are referred to a lot) is the use of male pronouns for a generic character. This is first encountered in the "Traveller Creation" chapter, but I think it is probably throughout the ...
by Belisknar
Mon Oct 12, 2015 11:05 pm
Forum: Traveller
Topic: University Education Bonus
Replies: 8
Views: 1204

Re: University Education Bonus

As it is currently written it is cumulative. If one successfully graduates from university they come out with a total +3 to their Edu. My perspective. The actual value of ones characteristic is not as important as what is it's DM. A total increase of 2 would likely, but is not guaranteed to increas...
by Belisknar
Sun Oct 11, 2015 2:45 pm
Forum: Traveller
Topic: University Education Bonus
Replies: 8
Views: 1204

Re: University Education Bonus

When one attends University, the rules state "Increase EDU by +1", then under Graduation Benefits, it says "Increase EDU by +2". Is this a cumulative increase, so a Traveller who graduates from University gets +3 EDU, or is it incremental, such that you either get +1 or +2, depending on whether you...
by Belisknar
Thu Oct 08, 2015 10:59 pm
Forum: Traveller
Topic: Dogfighting
Replies: 70
Views: 3688

Re: Dogfighting

So they do get to fire 60 times per standard combat round. So a single destroyer engaged by two frigates could enter into short range with one of the frigates and resolve that combat without interference from the second frigate. Adjacent range, and in that case yes, But both Destroyer and Frigate w...
by Belisknar
Thu Oct 08, 2015 2:25 pm
Forum: Traveller
Topic: Dogfighting
Replies: 70
Views: 3688

Re: Dogfighting

Normal space combat round = 6 minutes = 6 * 60 seconds = 360 seconds Dogfight combat round = 6 seconds. 360 / 6 = 60 dogfight rounds to a normal ship combat round See, now already by offering this much it makes it easier for folks to understand your question. So what you are really asking is do you...
by Belisknar
Thu Oct 08, 2015 11:58 am
Forum: Traveller
Topic: "Pre-Career", University and Service Skills.
Replies: 3
Views: 393

Re: "Pre-Career", University and Service Skills.

Not to be too picky, but the basic training does not say anything about your first term. Quote; Basic Training - For your first career only , you get all the skills listed in the Service Skills table at Level 0 as your basic training. For any subsequent careers, you may pick any one skill listed in...
by Belisknar
Thu Oct 08, 2015 1:24 am
Forum: Traveller
Topic: "Pre-Career", University and Service Skills.
Replies: 3
Views: 393

"Pre-Career", University and Service Skills.

If a traveller starts off with university as their first term option, are they simply throwing away their chance to get all 6 service skills from their first career? It's unclear whether this is the case or not. If you go with the Military Academy, you come out with all 6 of the service skills for t...
by Belisknar
Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:40 pm
Forum: Traveller
Topic: Armour
Replies: 16
Views: 1730

Re: Armour

Habibo wrote:also the highest level cloth armour goes under anything including other armours and provides it's protection and get a smart fiber it doesnt get dirty you can always be protected lol
I didn't think Cloth armour stacked with other types of worn armour other than things like Reflec
by Belisknar
Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:26 pm
Forum: Traveller
Topic: Fighters And Starships In Dogfight
Replies: 1
Views: 317

Re: Fighters And Starships In Dogfight

I think you may have posted this in the wrong sub forum. Does a fighter engaging a battleship and other fighters at close range get to fire its weapons 60 times per combat round? Almost certainly not. But when you are asking a specific question like that, it's best to quote the rules or pages you ar...
by Belisknar
Tue Oct 06, 2015 2:58 pm
Forum: Traveller
Topic: Life Events
Replies: 12
Views: 1285

Re: Life Events

First off i know there is a subject about the table but my post is not about the table so i figure it needs it's own post. I think the life events to make it more interesting could be rolled every term and you could either take it out of career events or leave it in making it possible to get two li...
by Belisknar
Tue Oct 06, 2015 9:30 am
Forum: Traveller
Topic: New Flow Chart.
Replies: 14
Views: 1555

Re: New Flow Chart.

I've only played MGT so I don't have the experience of the older versions to look back on. Any time I've created a character I've rolled all the benefits at the end of CharGen rather than when changing careers... so that's why I'm curious. I guess it's just a different philosophy of creation. though...
by Belisknar
Mon Oct 05, 2015 11:16 am
Forum: Traveller
Topic: Playtest Report of High & Dry
Replies: 17
Views: 1601

Re: Playtest Report of High & Dry

I was one of the players in this game. (the one who wound up dead) So I'll give some of my thoughts from the players perspective. Overall, enjoyed the scenario. I feel there is a lot of flavour written in but nothing to do with it. By that I mean the places were well described things seemed to be go...
by Belisknar
Mon Oct 05, 2015 8:14 am
Forum: Traveller
Topic: New Flow Chart.
Replies: 14
Views: 1555

Re: New Flow Chart.

Bar-en wrote:My question, why show the "Roll for Benefits/Muster Out" ball twice? Just show both inputs pointing to the same ball.
Agreed, but that's why I asked about whether we should be rolling mustering out after leaving each career or only as we are ending Character Creation.
by Belisknar
Sun Oct 04, 2015 7:38 pm
Forum: Traveller
Topic: That magic 100 meter zone of immunity
Replies: 14
Views: 1026

Re: That magic 100 meter zone of immunity

That number seems pretty fine to me. As -Daniel- has already pointed out with his examples, mounted weapons such as turrets don't have a full range of vertical movement so if something gets too close the weapon simply can't aim low enough.
by Belisknar
Sun Oct 04, 2015 12:07 pm
Forum: Traveller
Topic: Psionics Rules Feedback
Replies: 30
Views: 2934

Re: Psionics Rules Feedback

I hadn't spent much time looking at the Psionics Chapter and hadn't really given it much notice in the previous edition either so thought it would be a good time to deep dive. Rolled an 10 for his Psi strength of 7. and this is where I hit a stumbling block. Does this qualify my travellerfor his Ps...
by Belisknar
Sun Oct 04, 2015 11:55 am
Forum: Traveller
Topic: That magic 100 meter zone of immunity
Replies: 14
Views: 1026

Re: That magic 100 meter zone of immunity

Infojunky wrote:Any one else notice the 100 meter plus zone of target immunity that weapons mounted on "closed" vehicles grant?
Care to expand with some example text/page reference numbers?

Maybe give a little bit more context or example to your statement.