Search found 61 matches

by retaf33c
Fri May 25, 2007 4:55 pm
Forum: Other Miniatures Games
Topic: Reaction Question
Replies: 96
Views: 16648

This is actually an interesting question because some transports can't react. So if it counts as a reaction for the transport also but the transport can't react, then is the squad allowed to mount up? I could see this going either way; however, I'm incline to say the squad can mount up with out a pr...
by retaf33c
Mon May 21, 2007 5:47 pm
Forum: Other Miniatures Games
Topic: Questions from Today's game.
Replies: 16
Views: 3239

You are correct about the targeting of the building. Like I said, I don't even have the adv. rule book. Just using common sense based on the knowlege of the SST game. But, it would make sense to me that such a rule has included, after all the point were the building was targeted would create a huge...
by retaf33c
Mon May 21, 2007 12:49 pm
Forum: Other Miniatures Games
Topic: Questions from Today's game.
Replies: 16
Views: 3239

I understand and accept the second part about a die of secondary blast damage being allocated to the building. Unless something other than D6+1 for secondary blast is somewhere in the future, only primative buildings with a target of 7 are going to be affective. All other structures have at least an...
by retaf33c
Mon May 21, 2007 4:24 am
Forum: Other Miniatures Games
Topic: Questions from Today's game.
Replies: 16
Views: 3239

The first paragraph seems very straight forward: Shooting and close combat attacks will not harm a structure unless it specifically declared as the target - otherwise, models are assumed to be trying to shoot through opening at what is inside rather than blast the structure itself. If the structure ...
by retaf33c
Mon May 21, 2007 1:04 am
Forum: Other Miniatures Games
Topic: Questions from Today's game.
Replies: 16
Views: 3239

Page 25 of the rule book. First three paragraphs in the first column.
by retaf33c
Mon May 21, 2007 12:57 am
Forum: Other Miniatures Games
Topic: Tanks and cover.
Replies: 49
Views: 8573

OK, is there a minimum height the sandbags, wall, shrubs etc have to be to provide cover? We ended up with a piece of terrain normally used as a gun emplacement for Flames of War on the table. With a FAV parked in it, it didn't cover the hubs of the wheels. We gave it cover because we couldn't find ...
by retaf33c
Sun May 20, 2007 5:52 pm
Forum: Other Miniatures Games
Topic: Questions from Today's game.
Replies: 16
Views: 3239

We had a tough time understanding just what the rule was saying. As we read it, if you declare target as the structure, you cannot hurt anyone else in the fire zone as it says: "If the structure is declared as the target, other models within the Fire Zone will not be affected by the attack (unless, ...
by retaf33c
Sun May 20, 2007 4:39 pm
Forum: Other Miniatures Games
Topic: Tanks and cover.
Replies: 49
Views: 8573

By what I read here does this mean that by the rules a 1" high wall of sand bags provides cover to a size 4 tank even if only a portion of the tank facing the shooting unit is covered? And if my group thinks it should be at least a 2" high wall to provide cover, then that should be a house rule? We ...
by retaf33c
Sun May 20, 2007 3:58 pm
Forum: Other Miniatures Games
Topic: Questions from Today's game.
Replies: 16
Views: 3239

This brings up another question from our game. The rulebook says: "Any weapons that allocate Damage Dice (bonus Damage Dice or otherwise) within a certain range (such as most large tank guns) must always allocate at least one of those dice to the structure, if it is with their range." Could someone ...
by retaf33c
Mon May 14, 2007 2:44 pm
Forum: Other Miniatures Games
Topic: Question about the center of a fire zone
Replies: 11
Views: 1736

Actually it worked out very well. He quickly took out my ability to kill his armour. Even though he caught 2 or 3 models in the fire zone, he could still suppress my infantry units. He kept all his armour in cover so his target values were 9 for the transport and 10 for the tank. Odds were that the ...
by retaf33c
Mon May 14, 2007 12:54 pm
Forum: Other Miniatures Games
Topic: Question about the center of a fire zone
Replies: 11
Views: 1736

I guess I'm didn't ask my question properly. If I remember the rule properly (unfortunately, I don't have a copy handy) it says something like a point on the ground can be used if it allows more enemy models to be caught in the fire zone. By selecting open ground about 4 inches behind and to one sid...
by retaf33c
Mon May 14, 2007 12:13 pm
Forum: Other Miniatures Games
Topic: Technicals
Replies: 6
Views: 1236

Old Soldier, thanks. I understand the the PCM MG counts as 6 for suppression (assuming no 1s). However, I'm going against units that average 6 - 10 models. That's why it is harder for them to now suppress. I have to kill 2 -4 before getting a chance to suppress that unit. Not impossible, but again n...
by retaf33c
Mon May 14, 2007 3:44 am
Forum: Other Miniatures Games
Topic: Technicals
Replies: 6
Views: 1236

OK, that doesn't thrill me since it will be harder to suppress a unit with only one technical firing in a shoot action.

So does that also mean that if I have an infantry unit of 12, I can't mount them up because a technical can hold a max of 8?
by retaf33c
Mon May 14, 2007 3:39 am
Forum: Other Miniatures Games
Topic: Question about the center of a fire zone
Replies: 11
Views: 1736

Actually, the shooting unit had LOS to almost everyone in the unit; but that raises an interesting point. I would assume that as long as models in front are not in base to base, then it will be possible to draw a LOS to models behind them. Size 1 models have a tough time blocking LOS to other models.
by retaf33c
Mon May 14, 2007 12:05 am
Forum: Other Miniatures Games
Topic: Technicals
Replies: 6
Views: 1236

Technicals

Do three technicals chosen as a single support choice count as a unit?

For example, if one is shot at, can all three react?

If they are a unit, does one have to act as the unit leader? What happens if that one is killed?
by retaf33c
Sun May 13, 2007 11:57 pm
Forum: Other Miniatures Games
Topic: Caught in your own fire zone.
Replies: 7
Views: 1570

Caught in your own fire zone.

Does the rule that states that a model may never be caught within a Fire Zone that it helped create means that a model can't shoot at something say 2 inches away or that dice can't be allocated to it? Not being able to shoot at something close simply because it will be in the fire zone doesn't make ...
by retaf33c
Sun May 13, 2007 11:52 pm
Forum: Other Miniatures Games
Topic: Question about the center of a fire zone
Replies: 11
Views: 1736

Question about the center of a fire zone

When is it OK to select open ground as the center of a fire zone? My opponents believe it to be OK to target open ground in order to create a fire zone to "snipe" specific models or to avoid catching friendlies in the fire zone. Example 1: Enemy tank wants to eliminate a single technical in cover. I...
by retaf33c
Sun May 13, 2007 4:07 am
Forum: Other Miniatures Games
Topic: Confusion over cover
Replies: 16
Views: 4154

Old Soldier has it right. Every model must be able to track LOS to the center of the fire zone to shoot. Then only models that you can trace LOS can be hit. This LOS is not the same as the LOS to the center of the fire zone unless that model is the center of the fire zone. The bottom line is you can...
by retaf33c
Mon Dec 18, 2006 4:32 am
Forum: Victory at Sea
Topic: Different ship sizes an example
Replies: 18
Views: 6789

I just finished putting mine together tonight. They went together quite easily. The smaller ships had the bow bent a bit, but that wasn't hard to fix. I'm going to spray paint them black tomorrow and dry brush them grey for a basecoat. I'll post pictures when done.
by retaf33c
Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:31 pm
Forum: Victory at Sea
Topic: Different ship sizes an example
Replies: 18
Views: 6789

For 1/6000 scale Figurehead ships you, try this link: http://strangecargogames.com/index.php?cPath=301_26_593

Good photos and they didn't take too long to send me my order.