Search found 15 matches

by frankinla
Sun Apr 08, 2007 2:34 am
Forum: Victory at Sea
Topic: How many subs can I try to detect?
Replies: 9
Views: 2139

And they see nothing unless they roll a 6. "Well, they didn't DETECT anything, so they must be safe....mwahahahaaaaah!!" :twisted: no need for the evil laugh - only one ship in the rule book can detect subs this way. I'm pretty sure any time a Fletcher fails its long-range detection roll, the evil ...
by frankinla
Sun Apr 08, 2007 2:11 am
Forum: Victory at Sea
Topic: At All Costs victory condition
Replies: 17
Views: 3500

Thanks to all for the input and official answer! Some things I will remember for the next At All Costs game: 1. Always take subs. 2. Always take a good amount of anti-sub capability and play them very defensively. 3. Make eliminating the opponent's anti-sub units top priority. 4. Once this is done, ...
by frankinla
Sat Apr 07, 2007 5:17 pm
Forum: Victory at Sea
Topic: At All Costs victory condition
Replies: 17
Views: 3500

Well if you meet up with a mate for a game and then proceed to get wiped off the surface but manage to keep one sub tralling around the board and then claim that as some sort fo draw I think your mate has the right to punch you... or at least verbally abuse you. :wink: We have had a couple of AAC g...
by frankinla
Sat Apr 07, 2007 4:59 pm
Forum: Victory at Sea
Topic: At All Costs victory condition
Replies: 17
Views: 3500

I just keep one sub submerged on the table and I cannot possibly lose. ...... Frank in L.A. You could lose on a combo of time and points Only if you instituted a house rule of 'whoever is ahead on points after x minutes wins'. The victory condition per the rules is "This battle will continue until ...
by frankinla
Sat Apr 07, 2007 4:53 pm
Forum: Victory at Sea
Topic: How many subs can I try to detect?
Replies: 9
Views: 2139

[/quote]

Only subs in the same "square" as the detecting ship though[/quote]

And they see nothing unless they roll a 6. "Well, they didn't DETECT anything, so they must be safe....mwahahahaaaaah!!" :twisted:

Frank in L.A.
by frankinla
Sat Apr 07, 2007 4:34 pm
Forum: Victory at Sea
Topic: At All Costs victory condition
Replies: 17
Views: 3500

It seemed to me that subs are ships. In the fleet lists, the rulebook refers to subs as ships (e.g., "Ships of this class are..."). That being the case, once I eliminate the enemy anti-sub capability (if any), I just keep one sub submerged on the table and I cannot possibly lose. That's so odd I sta...
by frankinla
Sat Apr 07, 2007 4:23 pm
Forum: Victory at Sea
Topic: How many subs can I try to detect?
Replies: 9
Views: 2139

Subs can be detected by any ship, see the top of P.18. I'd guess each ship can make one detection roll for each sub within 8" of it. LBH P.18 says, "A single die is rolled before the ship declares its attacks." I took this literally that each ship may make one single detection roll at the beginning...
by frankinla
Fri Apr 06, 2007 9:15 pm
Forum: Victory at Sea
Topic: At All Costs victory condition
Replies: 17
Views: 3500

At All Costs victory condition

Do subs count as "ships" for this scenario, or surface ships only? If subs count, once one side has eliminated the other's depth charge units, they can't lose, which doesn't seem right.

Frank in L.A.
by frankinla
Fri Apr 06, 2007 3:48 pm
Forum: Victory at Sea
Topic: Yamato & Kongo vs. KGV & Queen Elizabeth (Short Vers
Replies: 32
Views: 5762

Re: Yamato & Kongo vs. KGV & Queen Elizabeth (Short

Exactly. The original reason for suggesting these battles and tehrefore this this thread was the question "Given tournement play why would anyone ever choose a Kongo over a Nagato?" Of course, I figured this out after basing and painting a Kongo AND a Kirishima! Doh! :roll: Oh, well. You can never ...
by frankinla
Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:45 pm
Forum: Victory at Sea
Topic: Yamato & Kongo vs. KGV & Queen Elizabeth (Short Vers
Replies: 32
Views: 5762

Re: Yamato & Kongo vs. KGV & Queen Elizabeth (Short

Armor: 4 on large vessels really blows. Amen to that! Played against Germans the other night who used Improved Rangefinders & radar locks to drop long-range shots on my Kongo with ease. The fact that they weren't AP hardly mattered against the lousy Armor 4. Gah! :evil: Good report! Frank in L.A.
by frankinla
Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:09 pm
Forum: Victory at Sea
Topic: Baseing
Replies: 21
Views: 4745

Here are a couple of my Japs & the Tirpitz for Kreigsmarine I'm painting for a friend. (I'll go back & put some nice labels on them all when I'm done painting.) Plasticard base with Elmer's wood glue texture, paint, Woodland Scenics Realistic Water brushed on as varnish. The bottle warns "DO NOT BRU...
by frankinla
Thu Apr 05, 2007 4:03 pm
Forum: Victory at Sea
Topic: More rules questions
Replies: 1
Views: 790

More rules questions

Hello, all. Well, our VaS group is growing and everyone is busily ordering and gluing up their GHQ fleets. A few more questions have come up we could use some help with: 1. On p.17, it says ships detected by radar may be attacked at any range up to maximum, regardless of visibility conditions for Sm...
by frankinla
Mon Mar 26, 2007 4:30 am
Forum: Victory at Sea
Topic: Bomber reload?
Replies: 19
Views: 3579

Well parking you plane over a ship until it gets shot down is a little stupid, it can't do anything once its attacked once... Since all bombers have one-shot weapons, and no way of reloading even if the did return to the carrier, they basically become useless after their one attack run... Nick Yes,...
by frankinla
Sun Mar 25, 2007 5:51 pm
Forum: Victory at Sea
Topic: Bomber reload?
Replies: 19
Views: 3579

Thanks for the replies. I like DM's refuel/rearm track. I was just reading the tournament report here and the player mentioned his tactic of launching all his flights then bottling out the carriers, so I guess he isn't worried about reloading! :P My group is never going to accept the magic-bomber-wh...
by frankinla
Sun Mar 25, 2007 8:33 am
Forum: Victory at Sea
Topic: Bomber reload?
Replies: 19
Views: 3579

Bomber reload?

Must carrier-based bombers return to reload between bombings? I say no, since I don't see that mentioned in the rules. My friends say yes, since planes continously bombing with unlimited ammo would be silly, and the book does mention carriers "recovering" planes. If you don't have to recover them to...